. N4A Announces 2017 Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
N4A Announces 2017 Award Winners

June 11, 2017

CLEVELAND -- The National Association of Academic Advisors for Athletics (N4A) announced the recipients of its Lan Hewlett, Distinguished Service, Professional Promise, Professional Excellence, Model Practices and Research Awards. The winners were recognized during the 2017 N4A Convention, held June 8-10 at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

“On behalf of our N4A Board of Directors and membership, I am proud to congratulate this year's award recipients,” stated N4A President Kenneth Miles, assistant vice chancellor of academic affairs and executive director for the Cox Communications Academic Center for Student-Athletes at Louisiana State University. “They regularly demonstrate the passion towards success, the dedication to our student-athletes, and the commitment to our profession. These leaders truly know what it means to be a member of this organization. They are certainly accomplished within their own right, and to be quite frank, I expect nothing less. Again, congratulations!”

Lan Hewlett Award

This award is named in honor of Mr. Lan Hewlett, a long-time advisor at the University of Texas, who is generally acknowledged as the first to provide academic support services to student-athletes. This award is presented annually to an advisor who has demonstrated the following:

  1. Sustained professional service in academic advising for collegiate student-athletes
  2. High level of competency in administrative skills
  3. Merited stature among and support from student-athletes, faculty, coaches, and fellow administrators
  4. Innovative response in meeting varied and emerging needs of student-athletes
  5. An effectiveness in the development of junior staff (where appropriate)
  6. Significant contributions to the field through publications or professional involvement/development
  7. Leadership in university affairs




David Graham, Assistant Provost, Student-Athlete Success/Associate AD, The Ohio State University

Distinguished Service Award

This prestigious award is presented annually to a N4A member who has demonstrated the following:

   Continuous N4A membership for five years

   Leadership in N4A at the regional or national level, a high quality of which is recognized by N4A peers

   Contributions above and beyond the normal service required by positions of leadership


Denise Poole, Program Director, Academic Services and Compliance Officer, New York University

Professional Promise Award

Given annually to one member from each region, the N4A Professional Promise Award honors "new" professionals who serve student-athletes and who have dedicated their energy to the Association and its mission. Winners must have been N4A members for more than one year but fewer than five years.


Jackson Martin, University of Pittsburgh (Region I)

Kaitlyn McCanna, Texas A&M University (Region II)

Brittany McGowan, University of Wisconsin (Region III)

Jesse Funk, Texas Tech University (Region IV)

Theresa Exum, Washington State University (Region V)

Professional Excellence Award

Given to one member from each region, the N4A Professional Excellence Award honors professionals with 6 - 15 years in the field who meet the following criteria:

    N4A involvement at the regional and/or national level

    Commitment to improving his/her department, often going above and beyond the tasks/responsibilities outlined in their job description

    Ability to meet their students' needs and address critical issues within athletics and/or the campus community

    Viewed as a leader/mentor among his/her colleagues and is well respected within the industry


Alyssa Gates, Marist College (Region I)

Kenneth Miles, Louisiana State University (Region II)

Kristina Navarro, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (Region III)

Brett Wohlers, University of Texas (Region IV)

Kayleigh McCauley, Lewis & Clark College (Region V)

Model Practices Award

The N4A Model Practices Award are awards given annually to a N4A-affiliated university or college that displays best practices in their programming for student-athletes (this includes, but is not limited to academic advising, academic integrity, disability services, target populations, learning specialists, tutoring, study hall/table, student-athlete affairs / life skills). Two awards presented each year -- one in the area of academics, and one in the area of student-athlete development.


University of Arkansas (Academic Support Services)

Wright State University (Student-Athlete Development Programming)

Research Award

This award is given to a graduate student working on a dissertation/thesis or a practitioner completing a research project to put towards future research with the hopes of sharing with the organization.


Ashley Kuhn, University of Florida

Sara Erdner, University of Tennessee

About N4A:  N4A, which has been in existence since 1975, is a diverse educational service and professional non-profit organization. Membership of N4A includes academic support and student services personnel who are committed to enhancing opportunities for academic, athletics and personal success for student-athletes. For more information on N4A, visit www.nfoura.org. N4A is administered by NACDA, now in its 52nd year, administers 17 professional associations, including seven for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics directors. For more information on NACDA, visit www.nacda.com