. NATYCAA Announces 2013 Scholar-Athlete Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
NATYCAA Announces 2013 Scholar-Athlete Award Winners

May 27, 2013

CLEVELAND - The National Alliance of Two Year College Athletic Administrators (NATYCAA) is proud to announce the winners of the 2013 Scholar-Athlete Award, sponsored by Kathy Polanshek and Carol Malouf, NATYCAA Friends.  Kristina Morgan of Gloucester County College was selected as the Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year, while Matthew Whitlatch of Paradise Valley Community College was chosen as the Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Kristina Morgan, a softball player, has a 3.88 grade point average, and was a member of Gloucester CC's President's List for five consecutive semesters. In 2011-12, she earned the CAANJ Female Scholar Athlete of the Year award and won the NJCAA Award for Superior Academic Achievement. Athletically, Morgan was the 2012 NJCAA Softball Tournament MVP and Most Valuable Pitcher, an NJCAA All-American, Region 19 Division III Tournament MVP, 1st Team All-Region member and 1st Team All-Garden State Athletic Conference Softball team member.

Matthew Whitlatch, a track and field and cross country participant and economics major, has a 3.65 GPA and was a two-time NJCAA Academic All-American. In addition, he was also the 2012 Maricopa County Community College Chancellor's Scholarship award winner, 2012 Paradise Valley CC Golden Puma Award Winner and 2011-13 PVCC Honors College. Whitlatch was also on the winning 2011 NJCAA Cross Country Championship team, the ACCAC Conference Championship team and All-American honors. In 2012, he earned All-Conference honors in the indoor 3,000-meters and the outdoor 1500-meters. 

"On behalf of NATYCAA, I want to congratulate this year's winners and thank everyone that submitted nominations for the Scholar-Athlete Awards," state Kulwant Singh, chair of the Scholar-Athlete Committee and director of athletics at De Anza College. "We look forward to continuing to honor deserving scholar-athletes in the future and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of our student-athletes."



In addition to Singh, committee members include the following athletics directors Gray Broadhurst, Mohawk Valley CC; Tim Drain, Tyler JC; Troy Tucker, Northampton CC; Dave Evans, San Diego Mesa College; and Bob Peters, Centralia College.

The winners will be recognized in June at the NATYCAA Convention in Orlando at the NATYCAA Awards luncheon scheduled for Thursday, June 13. 

About NATYCAA: Now in its 26th year, NATYCAA is the professional organization of two year college athletics administrators and membership is open to all two year institutions from throughout the country. The 2013 NATYCAA Convention will take place June 12-14 at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla. For more information on NATYCAA, please visit www.natycaa.com.  NATYCAA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 48th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.