. NACMA Announces Mississippi State as 2016 Marketing Team of the Year Award Winner :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
NACMA Announces Mississippi State as 2016 Marketing Team of the Year Award Winner

June 16, 2016

CLEVELAND  -- The National Association of Collegiate Marketing Administrators (NACMA) has announced Mississippi State University as its 2015-16 Marketing Team of the Year Award (MTOYA) recipient, sponsored by SuperFanU. The winner was announced during the kickoff session at the 25th Annual NACMA Convention in Dallas, Texas.


“Congratulations to Mississippi State on this well-deserved honor,” said NACMA President Becky Parke, assistant athletics director of marketing at Arizona State University. “Their creativity combined with the willingness to take risks and try new things produced tremendous results deserving of our profession’s highest honor.”

The Marketing Team of the Year Award was created by NACMA to show the significant impact a marketing team has not only on the athletics department, but the campus and surrounding community as well. Mississippi State's team listed their top 5 accomplishments this year as:

  • Sell out (10,626 fans) for a women’s basketball game (“History at the Hump”/White Out)
  • MSU Custom Emoji Keyboard / Custom GIPHY Channel
  • Program Growth & Expansion: Maroon Memories, Hail State Rewards & Bully’s Kids Club
  • Cowbell Yell at Davis Wade with new Guinness World Record (Cowbells)
  • Davis Wade Stadium Projection Screen System

Click here to view Mississippi State's complete Marketing Team of the Year Award submission, including details on specific campaigns that garnered regional and national attention.

"We thank NACMA for this prestigious honor,” said Leah Beasley, MSU Assistant Athletics Director for Marketing. “Just to be considered a finalist for the award with Maryland and Oregon is a privilege. I am blessed to work each day with such a creative, hard-working staff from our full-timers to our students. None of this would be possible without the leadership of our Director of Athletics Scott Stricklin and Senior Associate Athletics Director Scott Wetherbee.”

Now in its fifth year, the nominations for the MTOYA spanned across FBS, FCS, and Division I-AAA institutions. The two other finalists for the 2016 MTOYA were the University of Maryland and University of Oregon.

The selection committee was made up of NACMA Past Presidents, as well as two NACDA Past Presidents.

Award recipients received the prestigious NACMA MTOYA Trophy to keep in their offices and were recognized at the NACDA Learfield Directors' Cup Luncheon on Tuesday, June 15 at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas. The honorable mentions and finalists' submissions are now posted on the NACMA Community for the membership to view.

About NACMA: NACMA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of athletics marketing administrators. For more information about NACMA, please visit www.nacma.com. NACMA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 51st year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.