. NACDA Elects New Officers and Executive Committee Members :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
NACDA Elects New Officers and Executive Committee Members

June 22, 2011


CLEVELAND - The members of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) have selected UCLA Director of Athletics Dan Guerrero to lead the Association in 2011-12. Guerrero replaces Dave Roach, director of athletics at Colgate University, who served as President in 2010-11.

The passing of the gavel took place in conjunction with the 46th Annual NACDA Convention, which took place June 16-18 at the Orlando World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla.

"NACDA had another outstanding Convention last week and I want to salute Dave for his leadership during the past year," Guerrero said. "It's an honor and privilege to be elected to serve as our Association's President."

Also elected to serve NACDA for the 2011-12 term were 1st Vice President Kevin Anderson, director of athletics at the University of Maryland; 2nd Vice President Mike Alden, director of athletics at the University of Missouri; 3rd Vice President Jim Phillips, director of athletics at Northwestern University; and Don Tencher, director of athletics at Rhode Island College, to the first year of a five-year term as secretary.

Executive Committee members selected include athletics directors Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul University; Ed Matejkovic, West Chester University; Sue Hlavacek, Notre Dame College; Dave Williams, Missouri Western State University; Robyn Daugherty, John Brown University; Bruce Parker, Carroll College; and Vince Otoupal, Cal State Monterey Bay. University of Rhode Island Associate AD/SWA Sue Bergen will also begin her term on the Executive Committee.

The eight administrators listed above join the following individuals on the Executive Committee - Cal AD Sandy Barbour, Denver Vice Chancellor for Athletics Peg Bradley-Doppes, Tulsa AD Bubba Cunningham, Navy AD Chet Gladchuk, Connecticut AD Jeff Hathaway, New Mexico AD Paul Krebs, Buffalo AD Warde Manuel, Southern Maine AD Al Bean, Fayetteville State AD Ed McLean, Mohawk Valley CC Gary Broadhurst, Seminole State College of Florida AD John Scarpino, South Plains College AD Joe Tubb, Sierra College AD John Volek, Big 12 Commissioner Dan Beebe, Iowa State Senior Associate AD-Administration Julie Bright, NCAA Senior VP-Championships Joni Comstock, Notre Dame Deputy AD Missy Conboy, Baylor Senior Associate AD-Compliance Governance and Risk Assessment Lori Ebihara, ECAC Commissioner Rudy Keeling, Big East Commissioner John Marinatto, Missouri Valley Football Conference/Pioneer League Commissioner Patty Viverito and Georgia Senior Associate AD Carla Williams.

About NACDA: NACDA, now in its 47th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers 12 professional associations for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics directors. For more information on NACDA, visit www.nacda.com.