. 2009-10 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
2009-10 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced

June 21, 2010

Anaheim, Calif. - The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced the 29 winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Award (ADOY) today. There are four geographic regions - northeast, southeast, central and west; while the membership is separated into seven categories - Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A); Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA); Division I (formerly Division I-AAA); Division II; Division III; NAIA; and Junior/Community Colleges, along with one International winner. One winner was selected in each of the seven categories, for a total of 29 honorees. Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Thursday, June 24 at NACDA's 45th Annual Convention at the Marriott Hotel in Anaheim, Calif.

NACDA Executive Director Mike Cleary explains the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to campuses and their surrounding communities.

"Before the program's inception, our Honors and Awards Committee recognized a need for an award such as the AD of the Year," said Cleary, who oversaw implementation of the program to allow all NACDA Officers and Honors and Awards Committee members to participate in the awards process, should they be elected. "The program brings to light the exceptional jobs done by athletics directors across the country. These 29 winners exemplify that, providing us with a group of outstanding athletics directors who excel at their jobs."

Winners of the 2009-10 Under Armour AD of the Year Awards are:





Football Bowl Subdivision


Morgan Burke

Purdue University


Bob De Carolis

Oregon State University


Lee Fowler

North Carolina State University


Jeff Hathaway

University of Connecticut



Football Championship Subdivision


Gregory Burke

Northwestern State University


David Roach

Colgate University


Bob Roller

Samford University


Ky Snyder

University of San Diego



Division I


Pete Carlon

University of Texas at Arlington


Gene Doris

Fairfield University


Dave Mullins

East Tennessee State University


Chris Peterson

University of Arkansas Little Rock



Division II


Anita Barker

California State University Chico


Sandra Michael

Holy Family University


James Watson

West Liberty University


Sue Willey

University of Indianapolis



Division III


Susan Bassett

Carnegie Mellon University


Steve Fritz

University of Saint Thomas


Edward Hegmann

University of Mary Washington


Don Techer

Rhode Island College



Junior College/Community College


Bob Bottger

Saint Louis Community College-Meramec


John Jackson

Dean College


Alan Kramer

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College


Joe Tubb

South Plains College



NAIA/Other 4-year Institutions


Jim Abbott

Oklahoma City University


Rob Cashell

Eastern Oregon University


Susan Hlavacek

Notre Dame College


Darin Wilson

Union College





Murray Hall

Trinity Western University


All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Among the criteria were service as an AD for a minimum of five academic years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments. Additionally, each AD's institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body (i.e., NCAA, NAIA, etc.), in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control within the last five years during the tenure of the current athletics director.

Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners. Special Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, present and past NCAA and NAIA presidents, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award. A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA's Web site at www.nacda.com.

Under Armour (NYSE: UA): is a leading developer, marketer, and distributor of branded performance apparel, footwear, and accessories. The brand's moisture-wicking synthetic fabrications are engineered in many different designs and styles for wear in nearly every climate to provide a performance alternative to traditional natural fiber products. The Company's products are sold worldwide and worn by athletes at all levels, from youth to professional, on playing fields around the globe. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Maryland, with European headquarters in Amsterdam's Olympic Stadium, and additional offices in Denver, Hong Kong, Toronto, and Guangzhou, China. For further information, please visit the Company's Web site at www.underarmour.com.

About NACDA: NACDA, now in its 45th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,300 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers 11 professional associations for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics director.