. D2 CCA Announces Butch Raymond as 2015 Award of Merit Recipient :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
D2 CCA Announces Butch Raymond as 2015 Award of Merit Recipient

June 17, 2015

CLEVELAND - Butch Raymond, former Commissioner of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (NSIC), was named the 2015 D2 CCA Award of Merit recipient by the Division 2 Conference Commissioners Association (D2 CCA) Officers. He was presented with his award on Wednesday, June 17 at the D2 CCA Meetings in conjunction with the NACDA Convention in Orlando, Fla.

The Award of Merit is the highest honor presented by the D2 CCA and is reserved for those individuals who have made the most exceptional contributions to the entire NCAA Division II membership and Division II student-athletes.

Raymond, the fourth full-time commissioner in the history of the NSIC, began his tenure at the league office in the spring of 2004 and retired last August. For over a decade, Raymond led the NSIC from an eight-team league to a 16-team super conference, which won 13 team national championships, while achieving a high level of academic success.

Raymond came to the NSIC from Southwest Minnesota State University, where he served as director of athletics and associate director of development since 1997. While at Southwest Minnesota State, Raymond was responsible for all activities, budgeting, fund raising, marketing and promotions, compliance and day-to-day operations of 10 varsity sports as well as the overall athletics department. Raymond was also chair of the NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Committee.

During Raymond's time at Southwest Minnesota State, the Mustang athletics department enjoyed prosperity on and off the playing field. SMSU athletic teams won 11 Northern Sun Conference Championships, with 10 of the championships coming in the last four years. Seven SMSU athletic teams qualified for NCAA post-season play in the last four years, including the 2001 SMSU men's basketball team which captured the North Central Region title and advanced to the NCAA Elite Eight. In the classroom, SMSU student-athletes recorded program-high grade point averages during Raymond's tenure.

Prior to his stay at Southwest Minnesota State, Raymond was the men's basketball coach at St. Cloud State University. In addition to managing the operations of the men's basketball program, Raymond served as an associate professor in the school of health, physical education and recreation. Raymond was the all-time winningest coach in St. Cloud State history (231-141) until surpassed by his former assistant and current St. Cloud State Head Coach Kevin Schlagel. Raymond led his team to the North Central Conference Championship in 1986, 1987 and 1988. He was inducted into the St. Cloud State Athletic Hall of Fame in 2005.

Raymond also served as men's basketball coach and coordinator of intercollegiate athletics at Mankato State University. He coached the basketball team from 1973-84, earning one North Central Conference and one Northern Intercollegiate Conference title. From 1978-82, Raymond coordinated all efforts for the men's and women's athletics departments. In addition, he was an associate professor in the school of health, physical education and recreation.

A graduate of Augsburg College, Raymond served as men's basketball coach and assistant professor at his Alma Mater from 1969-1973. He also held the position of boys' basketball coach at Fairmont and Minneapolis Southwest high schools. Raymond earned his master's degree from Mankato State. Raymond and wife, Linnea, reside in Eagan, Minn.

Raymond joins an impressive group of individuals who have received the D2 CCA Award of Merit: Noel Olson, former Commissioner of the North Central Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (1998); Bob Vanatta, former Commissioner of the Sunshine State Conference (1999); Fred Jacoby, former Commissioner of the Lone Star Conference (2000); Sonny Moran, former Athletic Director at Morehead State (KY) University (2001); Bill Moore, former Commissioner of the New England Collegiate Conference (2002); Mike Racy, former NCAA Vice President for Division II (2003); Dr. Adam Herbert, former President of the University of North Florida (2004); Dr. Kent Wyatt, former President of Delta State University (2005); Don Landry, former Commissioner of the Sunshine State Conference (2006); Dr. Charles Ambrose, former President of Pfeiffer University (2007); Arend D. (Don) Lubbers, former President Emeritus of Grand Valley State University (2008); Doug Echols, former SAC Commissioner (2009); Tom Brown, former GLIAC Commissioner (2010); Terri Steeb, Vice President of NCAA Division II (2012); Nancy Mitchell, former Executive Director of the DII CCA (2013); and Robert Hiegert, former CCAA Commissioner (2014).