. 2016-17 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
2016-17 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced

March 2, 2017

CLEVELAND -- The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced the 28 winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Award (ADOY) today. The award spans seven divisions (NCAA FBS, FCS, Division I-AAA, II, III, NAIA/Other Four-Year Institutions and Junior College/Community Colleges). Winners will be recognized during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, June 13 at NACDA's 52nd Annual Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

NACDA Executive Director Bob Vecchione explains the Under Armour ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to student-athletes, campuses and their surrounding communities.

"Once again, we are proud to honor the 28 directors of athletics, from all levels of NACDA’s membership, as the Under Armour Athletics Director of the Year Class of 2016-17,” said Vecchione. “This award was created by the leadership of NACDA in 1998 to honor those athletics directors who have done an outstanding job in the eyes of their peers. In the 19-year history of the program, we have honored in excess of 425 of the top athletics directors in the industry.”

Winners of the 2016-17 Under Armour AD of the Year Awards are: 

Winner Institution
Football Bowl Subdivision
Sandy Barbour Penn State University
Boo Corrigan Army West Point
Jay Jacobs Auburn University
Blake James University of Miami
Football Championship Subdivision
Jeff Bourne James Madison University
Brian Faison University of North Dakota
Lee Reed Georgetown University
Vaughn Williams Kennesaw State University
Division I-AAA
Patrick Elliott Binghamton University
Jeff Konya Oakland University
Ed McLaughlin VCU
Patrick Nero George Washington University
Division II
Earl Edwards UC San Diego
Ivan Marquez Concordia College (NY)
Pennie Parker Rollins College
Lisa Sweany Armstrong State University
Division III
Bridget Belgiovine Wellesley College
Sue Lauder Fitchburg State University
John Neese Hardin-Simmons University
Don Tencher Rhode Island College
Arabie Conner Ottawa University
Willis Pooler Lindsey Wilson College
Bill Popp Reinhardt University
Drew Watson Southeastern University
Junior/Community Colleges
Dudley "Skip" Bailey Monroe Community College
Rob Chaney Tallahassee Community College
Albert Gasparian Golden West College
Troy Tucker Northampton Community College

Under Armour is now in its ninth year of sponsoring the award and over 200 different ADs have been honored with the award during that time.

“The Athletics Director of the Year Award honors those men and women who are visionary leaders in college athletics,” said Nick Carparelli, Under Armour senior director of college sports. “Under Armour is proud to partner with NACDA to facilitate this recognition for the top athletics directors across all divisions.”

All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Among the criteria were service as an AD for a minimum of five academic years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments. Additionally, each AD's institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body (i.e., NCAA, NAIA, etc.), in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control during the tenure of the current athletics director.

Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners, as well as other respected intercollegiate athletics administrators. Special Divisional Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award. A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA's Web site at www.nacda.com.

About Under Armour (NYSE: UA): Under Armour is a leading developer, marketer, and distributor of branded performance apparel, footwear, and accessories. The brand's moisture-wicking synthetic fabrications are engineered in many different designs and styles for wear in nearly every climate to provide a performance alternative to traditional natural fiber products. The Company's products are sold worldwide and worn by athletes at all levels, from youth to professional, on playing fields around the globe. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Maryland, with European headquarters in Amsterdam's Olympic Stadium, and additional offices in Denver, Hong Kong, Toronto, and Guangzhou, China. For further information, please visit the Company's Web site at www.underarmour.com.

About NACDA: NACDA, now in its 52nd year, is the professional and educational Association for more than 15,700 college athletics administrators at more than 1,700 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 6,500 athletics administrators annually attend NACDA & Affiliates Convention Week. Additionally, NACDA manages 17 professional associations and three foundations. For more information on NACDA, visit www.nacda.com.