2010 McLendon Foundation Hall of Fame and Pioneer Award Nominees

Feb. 19, 2010

Once again, NACDA and the members of the Division I-A Athletics Directors McLendon Minority Scholarship Steering Committee are proud to announce the 3rd Annual John McLendon Minority Athletics Administrators Hall of Fame Induction Class. The 2010 Hall of Fame inductees will be honored at a reception that will take place on Wednesday, June 23 at the Anaheim Marriott Hotel in conjunction with the NACDA Convention. This year's reception emcee will be Gene Washington, 2009 McLendon Hall of Fame inductee, four-time NFL Pro-Bowler and retired NFL director of football operations.

To date, this year's induction reception will honor NCAA nominee, Percy Bates, current faculty athletics representative at Michigan and former chair of many NCAA committees; NACDA nominee, Howard Gentry Sr., the association's first minority officer in the 1970's while serving as director of athletics at Tennessee State; NFL nominee, Mike Haynes, special advisor to the Commissioner of the NFL and hall of fame defensive back from Arizona State; and USOC nominee, Rafer Johnson, of UCLA, 1960 Olympic gold medalist in the decathlon and current chairman for the board of directors of the Southern California Special Olympics. 

For complete bios for all of the Hall of Fame nominees, click here

Additionally, this year, the McLendon Foundation will be honoring minority "firsts" in athletics with the Pioneer Award. The 2010 recipients of this award will include Barry Alvarez, first Hispanic to win the Rose Bowl; Ernie Davis, first African-American to win the Heisman Trophy; Mike Garrett, one of the first three African-American athletics directors to take a team to the Rose Bowl when it was the traditional Pac-10 vs. Big Ten match-up; Dan Guerrero, first Hispanic to chair the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball committee; Tommy Hawkins, first Black network analyst with NBC; Craig Littlepage, first African-American to chair the NCAA Division I Basketball committee; and Burl Toler, first African-American NFL official. 

For complete bios for all of the Pioneer Award nominees, click here.

About the John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Program: The John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Awards are presented to senior-level minority students who intend to pursue a graduate degree in athletics administration. If you have any questions regarding this program, please visit The McLendon Scholarship Program is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 45th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit




Division I

2013-14 Division I Standings - 4/10

Institution Pts
1. Stanford 997.75
2. Penn State 792.00


4. Notre Dame 673.25
5. North Carolina 650.00
6. Florida 632.00
7. Duke 631.50
8. Florida State 620.00
9. Michigan State 617.00



Complete Standings/Release Dates

Division II

2013-14 Division II Standings - 4/3

Institution Pts
1. Grand Valley State 718.00
2. West Texas A&M 451.50
3. Central Missouri


4. Adams State 425.00
5. Alaska Anchorage 397.75
6. Shippensburg 397.00
7. Ashland 395.50
8. Metro State (CO) 379.00
9. Indianapolis 375.50
10. Tampa 374.00

Complete Standings/Release Dates

Division III

2013-14 Division III Standings - 4/3

Institution Pts
1. Williams 843.75
2. Wisconsin Whitewater 648.75
3. Johns Hoplins 632.50
4. Washington-St. Louis 581.50
5. Emory 536.50
6. Middlebury 486.00
7. Amherst 478.50
8. Chicago 476.50
9. Wartburg


10. MIT 452.50

Complete Standings/Release Dates


2013-14 NAIA Standings - 3/27

Institution Pts
1. Oklahoma Baptist 598.00
2. Olivet Nazarene (IL) 574.50
3. Lindsey Wilson 470.50


5. Concordia (CA) 445.50
6. Wayland Baptist 440.00

Cumberlands (KY)


8. College of Idaho 419.00
9. Biola 394.50
10. Grand View 381.00

Complete Standings/Release Dates