. NAADD Announces Recipients of its 2013 Diversity Initiative Program :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
NAADD Announces Recipients of its 2013 Diversity Initiative Program

April 19, 2013

For the seventh year in a row, the National Association of Athletic Development Directors (NAADD) has announced the recipients of its Diversity Initiative Program. Recipients receive Convention stipends to attend the 2013 NAADD Convention as well as the Fundamentals of Athletic Development (FOAD) sessions, which takes place from June 13-15 at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida. This year, at Convention, NAADD will recognize past winners with an alumni reception on Wednesday June 12. NAADD

"The NAADD Diversity Initiative Program allows our association to recognize first class minority and female administrators who are members of our association and provide them with the opportunity to advance their careers in intercollegiate athletics development," stated NAADD President Stephen Ponder, Sr. Executive Associate Athletics Director for External Relations, University of Mississippi.  "Our Diversity Initiative Committee did an outstanding job publicizing and promoting this great program. This year's applicant pool was our highest and one of our most talented pools we have ever had.  The selection committee led by NAADD Executive Committee member Doug Knuth (University of Nevada) along with former Diversity Initiative winners Anthony Henderson (University of Akron) and Shelley Binegar (Northern Illinois University) did an outstanding job of sorting through many qualified applicants to select the recipients. We appreciate their efforts and congratulate our winners. "

The 2013 Diversity Initiative recipients are:

Danielle Boyle, University of California, San Diego
Brian Brantley, University of Memphis
Janel Chittum, University of Indianapolis
Omar Cruz, University of Texas at El Paso
Sheena Cummings, University of Alaska Fairbanks
Alexa Doutt, University of Akron
Richard Duran, University of California, Riverside
Lauren Dwyer, Columbia University
Dawn Ellerbe, California State University East Bay
Danielle Gaynor, Miami University
Megan Gormley, Bowling Green State University
Alicia Lawrence, Northern Kentucky University
Mandelyn McKinley, San Diego State University
Phoebe Pletcher, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Kim Schmidt, Grand Valley State University
Jimmy Soto, University of Utah
Jeremy Wang, Villanova University
Kevin Wilson, Fayetteville State University
Katie Wood, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Victor Yates, University of Arizona

About NAADD: NAADD is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities, enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics, and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of athletics development and fund raising. For more information about NAADD, please visit www.naadd.com. NAADD is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 48th year. For more information on NACDA and the 12 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.