. 2011-12 John McLendon Postgraduate Scholarship Finalists Announced :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
2011-12 John McLendon Postgraduate Scholarship Finalists Announced

June 6, 2012

CLEVELAND – The 2011-12 John McLendon Postgraduate Scholarship finalists have been announced by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), today.  

The 11 finalists are Stephanie Baugh, Kansas, currently at NACWAA; Ryan Dougherty, Southwest Baptist; Orlando Gunn, Central Florida; Kim Haynes, Tennessee State; Marcus Hilliard, Duke; Jacqueline Leung, Denver; Ifeatu Okafor, Texas Tech; Alison Ramos, Southern California; Jaleesa Rhoden, Georgia; Gwendlyn Rostant, CUNY-Medgar Evers College; and DeMontre Smith, Virginia Commonwealth.    

The above mentioned winners names were forwarded to the John McLendon Memorial Minority Blue Ribbon Committee for their award selection by the John McLendon Awards Selection Committee.  The Selection Committee consists of 17 individuals, including 11 athletics directors.  The ADs are Kevin Anderson, Maryland; Dr. Sharon Beverly, Vassar; Clint Bryant, Augusta State; Rahsaan Carlton, Penn State Harrisburg; Earl Edwards, California San Diego; Dan Guerrero, UCLA; Craig Littlepage, Virginia; Lee McElroy, Albany; Warde Manuel, Connecticut; Bernard Muir, Delaware; and Gene Smith, Ohio State.  Other voting representatives include Sean Frazier, deputy athletics director, Wisconsin; Alfreeda Goff, senior associate commissioner/chief of staff, Horizon League; Curt Hamakawa, associate professor of sports management, Western New England; Dell Robinson, commissioner, Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference; Dennis Thomas, commissioner, Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference; and Alfred White, associate commissioner, Conference USA.    

The John McLendon Memorial Minority Blue Ribbon Committee, who are responsible for selecting the five individuals for the McLendon Scholarship include the following individuals: Troy Arthur, director of diversity and inclusion, NCAA; Alvin Attles, formerly of the Golden State Warriors; Charles Davis, lead color analyst, FOX Sports; Byron Daubs, director of brand sponsorships, Capital One; Wayne Embry, senior basketball advisor to the president, Toronto Raptors; Stan Johnson, executive director, MOAA;  Joanna McLendon, McLendon fund administrator; Cory Moss, senior vice president and managing director, Collegiate Licensing Company – an IMG Company; Claire Van Ummerson, vice president, Office of Women in Higher Education; Gene Washington, former director of football development, NFL; Bob Watson, vice president of on-field operations, Major League Baseball; and Bruce Wimbish, senior marketing and communications manager, Greater Columbus Sports Commission.

The winners will each receive a $10,000 scholarship to be used towards postgraduate studies in athletics administration. Funding for the scholarship program has been provided in part by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA); Capital One; the Cleveland Cavaliers; Major League Baseball (MLB); the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC); the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA); the National Basketball Association (NBA); the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA); and Sears, Roebuck and Co.

Minorities (as defined by federal guidelines) who intend to pursue a postgraduate degree in athletics administration are eligible for these scholarships. Students were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.2 on a 4.0 scale and have demonstrated leadership qualities on an institutional or community level.

About the John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Program:  The John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Awards are presented to senior-level minority students who intend to pursue a graduate degree in athletics administration.  If you have any questions regarding this program, please visit mclendonminorityfoundation.com.

About NACDA: NACDA, now in its 47th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,300 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.