. 2010 McLendon Foundation Hall of Fame and Pioneer Award Nominees :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
2010 McLendon Foundation Hall of Fame and Pioneer Award Nominees

Minor League Baseball President Pat O'Conner Named 2010 Bud Selig Mentoring Award Recipient

Once again, NACDA and the members of the Division I-A Athletics Directors McLendon Minority Scholarship Steering Committee are proud to announce the 3rd Annual John McLendon Minority Athletics Administrators Hall of Fame Induction Class. The 2010 Hall of Fame inductees will be honored at a reception that will take place on Wednesday, June 23 at the Anaheim Marriott Hotel in conjunction with the NACDA Convention. This year's reception emcee will be Gene Washington, 2009 McLendon Hall of Fame inductee, four-time NFL Pro-Bowler and retired NFL director of football operations.

To date, this year's induction reception will honor NCAA nominee, Percy Bates, current faculty athletics representative at Michigan and former chair of many NCAA committees; NBA nominee, Bernie Bickerstaff, current Chicago Bulls assistant coach and former executive vice president of basketball operations for the Charlotte Bobcats; NAIA nominee Claude English, director of athletics at Park University; NACDA nominee, Howard Gentry Sr., the association's first minority officer in the 1970's while serving as director of athletics at Tennessee State; NFL nominee, Mike Haynes, special advisor to the Commissioner of the NFL and hall of fame defensive back from Arizona State; USOC nominee, Rafer Johnson, of UCLA, 1960 Olympic gold medalist in the decathlon and current chairman for the board of directors of the Southern California Special Olympics; and MLB nominee, Don Newcombe, special advisor to the chairman for the Los Angeles Dodgers.  

For complete bios for all of the Hall of Fame nominees, click here

Additionally, this year, the McLendon Foundation will be honoring minority "firsts" in athletics with the Pioneer Award. The 2010 recipients of this award will include Barry Alvarez, first Latino to win the Rose Bowl; Ernie Davis, first African-American to win the Heisman Trophy; Mike Garrett, Charles Harris and Tom Goss, the first three African-American athletics directors to take a team to the Rose Bowl when it was the traditional Pac-10 vs. Big Ten match-up; Dan Guerrero, first Hispanic to chair the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball committee; Tommy Hawkins, first Black network analyst with NBC; Kim Ng, first Asian-American assistant general manager in Major League Baseball; Fritz Pollard, first African-American to play in the Rose Bowl; Burl Toler, first African-American NFL official; and Tyrone Willingham, first African-American head coach to take a team to the Rose Bowl.

For complete bios for all of the Pioneer Award nominees, click here.

For information on the Reception, sponsorship opportunities and table purchases, please contact Bret Krift at bret.krift@imgworld.com or 859-226-4406.

About the John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Program:
The John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Awards are presented to senior-level minority students who intend to pursue a graduate degree in athletics administration. If you have any questions regarding this program, please visit mclendonminorityfoundation.com. The McLendon Scholarship Program is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 45th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.