. Division 2 ADA Announces 2012-13 Academic Achievement Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Division 2 ADA Announces 2012-13 Academic Achievement Award Winners

Aug 21, 2013 - Updated 9/3 4:00 pm ET

CLEVELAND -- The Division 2 Athletics Directors Association (D2ADA) announced the 2012-13 recipients of the D2ADA Academic Achievement Awards.  The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division 2 level. 

A record number of institutions (172) and student-athletes (6,930) are being recognized for the 2012-13 Academic Achievement Awards.  The Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference had 759 student-athletes honored, a record-high for the program, followed by the Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) with 653 student-athletes being recognized and the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA) with 635 student-athletes being acknowledged with this award.

"The D2ADA would like to thank and congratulate the institutions that took part in honoring the record-number of 6,854 student-athletes with 2012-13 Academic Achievement Awards," stated D2ADA President Anita Barker, director of athletics at Chico State University.  "We continuously strive to recognize and honor deserving Division 2 student-athletes.  This award gives us the platform to showcase these individuals and their efforts in the classroom, as well as on the playing field."

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division 2 institution MUST BE a CURRENT dues paying member of the D2ADA. 

Also, the student-athlete must:

  •   have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
  •   have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work
  •   have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year

The following institutions submitted student-athletes for the Division 2 ADA Academic Achievement Award:

Bold indicates top recipient in the conference

CCAA - Cal Poly Pomona, Cal State Dominguez Hills, Cal State East Bay, Cal State San Bernardino, Chico State, Humboldt State, Sonoma State, UC San Diego

CACC - Bloomfield, Caldwell, Chestnut Hill, Felician, Georgian Court, Holy Family, Philadelphia, Post, Wilmington, University of the Sciences;

CIAA - Bowie State, Chowan, Elizabeth City State, Fayetteville State, Saint Augustine's, Shaw, Virginia State;

CC -  Barton, Coker, Erskine, King, Limestone, Mount Olive;

ECC - Daemen; District of Columbia, Molloy, NYIT, Saint Thomas Aquinas;

GAC - Arkansas Monticello, Henderson State, Northwestern Oklahoma State; Southeastern Oklahoma State, Southwestern Oklahoma State;

GLIAC - Ashland, Findlay, Grand Valley State, Hillsdale, Lake Erie, Malone, Michigan Tech, Northern Michigan, Saginaw Valley State, Tiffin, Wayne State Univ.

GLVC - Bellarmine, Drury, Illinois Springfield, Indianapolis, Maryville, Missouri S&T, Rockhurst, Southern Indiana, William Jewell, Wisconsin Parkside;

GNAC - Alaska Fairbanks, Montana State Billings, Seattle Pacific, Simon Fraser, Western Washington;

GSC - Alabama Huntsville, Christian Brothers, North Alabama, Shorter, Union, West Alabama, West Florida;

HC - Arkansas Fort Smith, Dallas Baptist;

Independent - Notre Dame, Palm Beach Atlantic, Salem International, South Dakota School of Mines, Virginia Wise;

LSC - Abilene Christian, Angelo State, Cameron, Incarnate Word, Midwestern State, Texas A&M Commerce, Texas Woman's;

MIAA - Central Missouri, Emporia State, Lincoln, Lindenwood, Missouri Southern State, Missouri Western State, Nebraska Kearney, Northeastern State, Pittsburg State, Southwest Baptist, Truman State, Washburn;

NE10 - Adelphi, Assumption, Bentley, Le Moyne, Merrimack, New Haven, Saint Anselm, Saint Rose, Southern Connecticut State, Southern New Hampshire, Stonehill;  

NSIC - Concordia St. Paul, Mary, Minnesota Crookston, Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota State Mankato, Minnesota State Moorhead, Minot State, Northern State, St. Cloud State, Upper Iowa, Wayne State College, Winona State;

PWC - Academy of Art, Dixie State, Dominican, Hawaii-Hilo, Notre Dame de Namur;

PBC - Armstrong Atlantic State, Flagler, Francis Marion, Georgia College, GRU Augusta, Montevallo, North Georgia, South Carolina Aiken;

PSAC - Bloomsburg, California (PA), Clarion, East Stroudsburg, Edinboro, Gannon, IUP, Kutztown, Mansfield, Shippensburg, Slippery Rock, West Chester;

RMAC - Black Hills, Colorado Christian, Fort Lewis, Metropolitan State University of Denver, New Mexico Highlands, Regis (CO), Western New MexicoWestern State Colorado;

SIAC - Clark Atlanta, Kentucky State;

SAC - Newberry;

SSC - Barry, Eckerd, FIT, Florida Southern, Lynn, Nova Southeastern, Rollins, Saint Leo, Tampa

WVIAC - Pittsburgh Johnstown, Seton Hill, Shepherd, West Liberty.

About D2ADA: The D2ADA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division 2 athletics directors. For more information about the D2ADA, please visit www.div2ada.com. The D2ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 49th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.