. Division II ADA Announces Academic Achievement Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Division II ADA Announces Academic Achievement Award Winners

Aug. 13, 2009

CLEVELAND -- The Division II Athletics Directors Association (DII ADA) announced the 2008-09 recipients of the DII ADA Academic Achievement Awards presented by WeatherPORT. The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

One hundred and seventeen institutions sent in nominees for the 2008-09 Academic Achievement Awards, up from the 67 institutions that participated last year. There are a total of 4,058 student-athletes being recognized this year. A year ago, 2,155 student-athletes were honored. The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference had a record number 391 student-athletes honored, followed by the Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) with 365 nominees.

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution MUST BE a CURRENT dues paying member of the DII ADA.

Also, the student-athlete must:

  • have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
  • have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work
  • have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year

    "We are excited that we almost doubled the scholar-athletes that were nominated from a year ago and want to thank those colleges and universities that took part in honoring its student-athletes," stated Division II ADA President Ed Matejkovic, director of athletics at West Chester University. "We look forward to more participation in the future and want to congratulate this year's winners."

    The following institutions submitted student-athletes for the Division II ADA Academic Achievement Award:
    CCAA: Cal Poly Pomona, California State Los Angeles, Chico State, Sonoma State;
    CACC: Bloomfield, Caldwell, Chestnut Hill, Georgian Court, Goldey-Beacom, Holy Family, Philadelphia, Post, University of the Sciences in Philadelphia, Wilmington;
    CIAA: Virginia State;
    CC: Barton, Coker, Erskine, Limestone, Mount Olive;
    ECC: Adelphi, Bridgeport, C.W. Post/Long Island, Dowling, Mercy, Molloy, Saint Thomas Aquinas;
    GLIAC: Ferris State, Findlay, Grand Valley State, Michigan Tech, Northern Michigan, Wayne State;
    GLVC: Bellarmine, Drury, Indianapolis, Missouri Science and Technology, Rockhurst, Southern Indiana, Wisconsin Parkside;
    GNAC: Alaska Anchorage, Seattle Pacific, Western Oregon; Western Washington
    GSC: Montevallo;
    HC: Dallas Baptist, Incarnate Word, Newman;
    Independent: Central State, Palm Beach Atlantic;
    LSC: Abilene Christian, Cameron, Midwestern State, Northeastern State, Southwestern Oklahoma State, Texas A&M Commerce, Texas Woman's;
    MIAA: Emporia State, Missouri Western State, Northwest Missouri State, Pittsburg State, Truman State;
    NE10: Assumption, Bentley, Le Moyne, Massachusetts Lowell, New Haven, Saint Michael's, Southern Connecticut State, Southern New Hampshire;
    NSIC: Bemidji, Concordia St. Paul, Minnesota State Mankato, Minnesota State Moorhead, Northern State, Upper Iowa, Wayne State, Winona State;
    PBC: Armstrong Atlantic State, Augusta State, Francis Marion, Georgia College and State, Georgia Southwestern State, Lander, North Carolina Pembroke, South Carolina Aiken;
    PSAC: Bloomsberg, Cheyney, East Stroudsburg, Kutztown, Mansfield, Slippery Rock, West Chester;
    PWC: Chaminade, Dixie State College of Utah;
    RMAC: Adams State, Colorado School of Mines, Colorado-Colorado Springs, Fort Lewis, Mesa State, Metropolitan State College of Denver, Nebraska Kearney, Regis, Western State College of Colorado;
    SAC: Wingate;
    SSC: Barry, Florida Southern, Lynn, Saint Leo, Tampa;
    WVIAC: Bluefield State, Charleston, Pittsburgh Johnstown, Seton Hill, Shepherd, West Liberty and West Virginia Wesleyan.

    About DII ADA: The DII ADA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division II athletics directors. For more information about the DII ADA, please visit www.div2ada.com.  The DII ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 45th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.