. Division II ADA Announces Academic Achievement Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Division II ADA Announces Academic Achievement Award Winners

Updated - Aug. 31, 2011

CLEVELAND -- The Division II Athletics Directors Association (DII ADA) announced the 2010-11 recipients of the DII ADA Academic Achievement Awards.  The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level. 

Ninety-nine institutions sent in nominees for the 2010-11 Academic Achievement Awards, while a total of 3,700 student-athletes are being recognized this year.  The Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) had 434 student-athletes honored, a record-high for the program, followed by the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) with 381 nominees. The NSIC previously held the record for most student-athletes honored with 391 in 2008-09.    

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution MUST BE a CURRENT dues paying member of the DII ADA. 

Also, the student-athlete must:

  •   have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
  •   have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work
  •   have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year

"Congratulations to all of this year's Academic Achievement Award winners," stated Division II ADA President Greg Waggoner, director of athletics at Western State College of Colorado.  "We want to thank and congratulate those colleges and universities that took part in honoring its student-athletes and look forward to continued participation in the future."

The following institutions submitted student-athletes for the Division II ADA Academic Achievement Award:
(please visit www.div2ada.com for complete listings of the student-athletes honored)



CCAA: Cal Poly Pomona, Cal State Los Angeles, Cal State Stanislaus, Chico State, Sonoma State, California San Diego;

CACC: Bloomfield, Caldwell, Chestnut Hill, Georgian Court, Goldey-Beacom, Holy Family, Philadelphia, University of the Sciences, Wilmington;

CIAA: Chowan, Fayetteville State, Shaw, Virginia State;

CC: Barton, Limestone, Mount Olive;  

ECC: Dowling, Molloy, Saint Thomas Aquinas, Bridgeport;

GLIAC: Ferris State, Northern Michigan, Wayne State Univ.;

GLVC: Bellarmine, Drury, Indianapolis, Maryville, Missouri S&T, Northern Kentucky, Rockhurst;

GNAC: Montana State Billings, Northwest Nazarene, Seattle Pacific, Western Washington;

GSC: North Alabama, West Florida;

HC: Dallas Baptist, St. Edward's, St. Mary's;

Independent: Central State, Malone, Palm Beach Atlantic;

LSC: Abilene Christian, Cameron, Midwestern State, Texas A&M Commerce, Texas Woman's;

MIAA: Emporia State, Missouri Western State, Southwest Baptist, Truman State;

NE10: Bentley, Le Moyne, New Haven, Saint Anselm, Stonehill;

NSIC: Bemidji State, Concordia St. Paul, Mary, Minnesota Crookston, Minnesota State Mankato, Northern State, St. Cloud State, Upper Iowa, Wayne State College;

PWC: Academy of Art, Dixie State, Notre Dame de Namur

PBC:  Flagler, Francis Marion, Georgia College and State, Montevallo, South Carolina Aiken;

PSAC: Cheyney, East Stroudsburg, Gannon, Mansfield, Slippery Rock, West Chester;

RMAC: Adams State, Fort Lewis, Metropolitan State College of Denver, Regis, Western State College of Colorado;

SSC: Barry, Florida Southern, Lynn, Nova Southeastern, Saint Leo;

WVIAC: Charleston, Pittsburgh Johnstown, Seton Hill, and West Virginia Wesleyan.

About DII ADA: The DII ADA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division II athletics directors. For more information about the DII ADA, please visit www.div2ada.com.  The DII ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 47th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.