. Division II ADA Announces Inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Division II ADA Announces Inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Feb. 3, 2009

Cleveland, Ohio - The Division II Athletics Directors Association (DII ADA) has announced the recipients of the inaugural DII ADA Lifetime Achievement Award - Rudy Carvajal, athletics director at California State University Bakersfield (CSUB) and Phil Roach, former athletics director at Rollins College. The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented by WeatherPORT and is given to athletics directors who have exemplified superior achievement during their career at the Division II level.

"We are excited that Rudy and Phil are the inaugural DII ADA Lifetime Achievement Award recipients," stated DII ADA President Ed Matejkovic, director of athletics at West Chester University. "These gentlemen have been at the forefront of Division II initiatives over the years and the DII ADA looks forward to honoring them at the NACDA Convention in June."

rudyAthletics Director at CSUB since 1972, Carvajal has built a small university program into one of the best Division II programs in the nation, winning an unprecedented 30 national championships in five different sports. The Roadrunners are also the first and only member of the California State University system to capture the Directors' Cup.

Carvajal stresses the importance of being a student-athlete, which is apparent by the fact that Roadrunner student-athletes graduate at a rate of 13% higher than the general student body. Over the course of his leadership, CSUB student-athletes have been awarded numerous postgraduate scholarships and have been recognized on Academic All-America ® teams. Carvajal has also served on the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee and on the John McLendon Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Committee.

The foundation of Carvajal's success at CSUB relies on community support, which in turn allows the student-athletes to pay back to the university and community through a variety of community service projects. Currently, Carvajal is leading the Roadrunners into the third year of their reclassification to NCAA Division I status.

Roach, who served as AD at Rollins for 13 years, was instrumental with the inception of the Division II Athletics Directors Association in roach1997-98. He served as the Association's president in 1998-99 and was a member of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Executive Committee from 1994-99.

In May 2004 behind Roach's leadership, Rollins became the first institution to provide support for the inaugural NCAA Division II Spring Sports Festival, which grouped six spring championships at a common location over a one-week period.

At Rollins, he was a prominent figure on campus, not only within the athletics department, but in the campus community as well. He was instrumental in the formation of the Athletics Council on campus and demonstrated values and morals that bonded both the athletics mission with the institutional mission. He developed the athletics mission statement for Rollins, while also setting the goals and standards for the physical education and athletics department with measurable outcomes.

One of the most important values that Roach instilled on his student-athletes was sportsmanship. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), which Roach helped create on the Rollins campus, took note and initiated the Phil Roach Sportsmanship Award, which is given annually to the student-athlete who demonstrates the most sportsmanship.

Prior to going to Rollins, Roach was the athletics director at Guilford College and Marietta College. He is currently working as a consultant for NACDA Consulting.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the most prestigious award presented by the DII ADA. To be eligible for this award, a person must be at least 60 years old, or have spent at least 25 years in collegiate athletics, with a majority of those years as an AD. The honoree may be currently in the profession or retired. The Lifetime Achievement Award will recognize an AD who, over the course of his/her career, has made an exemplary contribution to Division II athletics and the student-athlete experience.

About DII ADA: The DII ADA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division II athletics directors. For more information about the DII ADA, please visit www.div2ada.com. The DII ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 44th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.

About WeatherPORT: WeatherPORT has seen exponential growth over the last 40 years, moving their base of operation from Gunnison to the Delta, Colorado area. Currently, WeatherPORT boasts over 200 families under their employ, making them one of the largest companies in the private sector in the area. WeatherPORT maintains several manufacturing facilities and a Research and Development facility to further innovative ways in which to meet the customers' requisite needs.