. Eight Postgraduate Scholarship Finalists Announced for Football Championship Subdivision ADs Association :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Eight Postgraduate Scholarship Finalists Announced for Football Championship Subdivision ADs Association

Dec. 19, 2006

Cleveland, Ohio - The Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA) Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) announced the eight postgraduate scholarship finalists from the 54 members of the Academic All-Star Team, today.

Eight finalists were selected for the Sixth Annual Division FCS ADA's $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarship. Of those eight, two of the student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association's annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida, June 7-10, 2006.

The eight finalists are Craig Dahl, North Dakota State, safety, 3.58; Adi Filipovic, Furman, offensive line, 3.92; Ray Gensler, Robert Morris, defensive line, 3.91; Josh Hoke, Coastal Carolina, place-kicker, 3.98; Kyle Kinsell, Davidson, defensive line, 3.83; James Lindgren, Northern Iowa, wide receiver, 3.81; Jonathan Rueter, Eastern Illinois, offensive line, 3.71; and Darren Schmidt, Columbia, defensive end, 3.76.

In order to qualify for a postgraduate scholarship, players must have been named to the 2006 FCS ADA Academic All-Star team, and either a senior or graduate student.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Greg Burke, Northwestern State; Peter Fields, Montana State; Don Kaverman, chair, Southeast Missouri State; Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth; Jim Murphy, Davidson; and Tim Van Alstine, Western Illinois.

Now in its 14th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. The Association is administered by NACDA, now in its 42nd year. NACDA is the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,000 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention.