. Seventh Annual Division I-AA ADs Association Academic All-Star Team Named :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Seventh Annual Division I-AA ADs Association Academic All-Star Team Named

Dec. 17, 2004

Cleveland, Ohio -- The 36 winners of the Seventh Annual Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team were announced this weekend by the Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AA ADA).

The winners were chosen from 86 nominees and were announced at the Division I-AA football championship in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The 36 members of the Division I-AA Academic All-Star Team are listed below.

"The young men who earned this award are outstanding representatives of the caliber of students and the caliber of athletes found in Division I-AA football," said Steve McCarty, chair of the Division I-AA ADA Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and athletics director at Stephen F. Austin State.

Football players from all Division I-AA institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the 86 nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Additionally, from the Academic All-Star team, six finalists were selected for the Fourth Annual Division I-AA ADA's $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarship. Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association's annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida, June 15-18, 2005.

The six finalists are Stephen Bono, Lafayette, offensive lineman, 3.80; Justin Gibson, Bucknell, offensive lineman, 3.77; Kevin Knutson, Valparaiso, wide receiver, 3.74; Jonathan LeDonne, Robert Morris, linebacker, 4.00; Brandon Mason, Elon, center, 3.81; and Craig Unger, Morehead State, linebacker, 3.81.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AA athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Kim Graham, Liberty; Don Kaverman, Southeast Missouri State; Roachel Laney, Appalachian State; Steve McCarty, chair, Stephen F. Austin State; Jim Murphy, Davidson; and John Parry, Butler.

Now in its 12th year, the Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Division I-AA football. The Association is administered by NACDA, which is celebrating its 40th anniversary. NACDA is the professional and educational association for more than 6,150 athletics directors, associates, assistants and conference administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. Through its series of management seminars, clinics and workshops and publication of the bi-monthly magazine Athletics Administration, NACDA offers educational opportunities to its members. More than 1,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, the Association operates the United States Sports Academy Directors' Cup program, which honors the all-sports champion in each of the NCAA Divisions -- I, II and III -- and the NAIA, for a total of four trophies.

For a complete list of the 2004 Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association Academic All-American team, click here.