. Ninth Annual Football Championship Subdivision ADs Association Academic All-Star Team Named :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Ninth Annual Football Championship Subdivision ADs Association Academic All-Star Team Named

Dec. 15, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format

Cleveland, Ohio -- The 54 winners of the ninth annual Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA) Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team was announced by the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA), today.

The winners were chosen from 94 nominees and were announced at the Football Championship Subdivision football championship in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

"These young men represent the outstanding student-athletes found in Football Championship Subdivision football," said Don Kaverman, chair of the Football Championship Subdivision Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and athletics director at Southeast Missouri State University. "They are the cream of the crop. We are proud of these student-athletes accomplishments both in the classroom and on the field."

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the 94 nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Greg Burke, Northwestern State; Peter Fields, Montana State; Don Kaverman, chair, Southeast Missouri State; Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth; Jim Murphy, Davidson; and Tim Van Alstine, Western Illinois.

The 54 members of the Football Championship Subdivision Academic All-Star Team are listed here.

Now in its 14th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. The Association is administered by NACDA, now in its 42nd year. NACDA is the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,000 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention.

Additionally, NACDA administers 10 professional associations for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics director. NACDA also operates the Sports Academy Directors' Cup program, which honors the four all-sports champions in NCAA Division I, II and III; and the NAIA. The Association has an awards program that includes the James J. Corbett Memorial Award, the highest administrative award presented in intercollegiate athletics; the GeneralSports Venue Athletics Director of the Year (ADOY) Award, honoring the top-29 athletics directors by division across the country; and the Coca-Cola Community All-American Awards, recognizing seven student-athletes by division for their community service efforts. NACDA also provides a daily web clip service, the NACDA Daily Review; and a bi-monthly magazine, Athletics Administration.