. FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners

June 24, 2015

CLEVELAND -- The Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) has announced the recipients of the Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award, sponsored by Forward Progress. The APR Award recognizes one institution at each of the 13 FCS conferences that has the highest APR score. In addition, the Association also recognizes one institution from each conference that has improved the most from the previous year. In all, 27 awards will be given this year.

"Our Association is pleased to present these awards to spotlight the mission of all FCS programs, embracing the academic progress of their student-athletes, who will become leaders off the field," said FCS ADA President Jeff Tingey, director of athletics at Idaho State University. "Thanks to Forward Progress, we are pleased to continue to recognize the FCS institutions and their football programs for continuing to reach exemplary APR scores."

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) member colleges and universities adopted a comprehensive academic reform package designed to improve the academic success and graduation of all student-athletes. The centerpiece of the package is the academic measurement for teams, known as the APR.  

The following institutions have been ranked in their respective conference with the highest APR score the past two years, Big Sky -- UC Davis; Big South -- Coastal Carolina; Northeast -- Bryant; Ohio Valley -- Tennessee Tech; Patriot League -- College of the Holy Cross; Southern Conference -- Wofford; and the Ivy League -- Dartmouth.

The following institutions received their awards during the FCS ADA Luncheon sponsored by Borden Perlman Insurance Agency, on Monday, June 15 in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

Highest APR in
Most Improved for
Big Sky Conference UC Davis Portland State
Big South Conference Coastal Carolina Presbyterian
Colonial Athletic Association Elon Towson
MEAC Delaware State Bethune-Cookman
Missouri Valley Illinois State Southern Illinois
Northeast Conference Bryant Saint Francis
Ohio Valley Conference Tennessee Tech Tennessee - Martin
Patriot League Holy Cross, Georgetown Fordham
Pioneer Football League Dayton Morehead State
Southern Conference Wofford VMI
Southland Conference McNeese State Central Arkansas
SWAC Jackson State Alcorn State
Ivy League Dartmouth  Princeton

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 23rd year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 51st year. For more information on NACDA and the 14 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.

About Forward Progress Athletics Consulting: Forward Progress is the industry leader in providing academic and APP-related consulting to NCAA institutions, conferences and individuals. Discover more at www.ForwardProgressAC.com.