. FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners

June 12, 2017

CLEVELAND -- The Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) has announced the recipients of the Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award. The APR Award recognizes one institution at each of the 13 FCS conferences that has the highest APR score. In addition, the Association also recognizes one institution from each conference that has improved the most from the previous year. In all, 26 awards will be given this year.

"The FCS ADA is committed to recognizing excellence in the classroom and retention with APR awards to FCS institutions and their football programs ," said FCS ADA President Mark Wilson, director of athletics at Tennessee Tech University. "These awards spotlight the mission of all FCS programs, embracing the academic progress of their student-athletes, who will become leaders off the field. Congratulations to all award winners."

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) member colleges and universities adopted a comprehensive academic reform package designed to improve the academic success and graduation of all student-athletes. The centerpiece of the package is the academic measurement for teams, known as the APR.  

The following institutions have been ranked in their respective conference with the highest APR score the past two years, Big Sky -- UC Davis; Missouri Valley -- Illinois State; Northeast -- Bryant; Patriot League -- College of the Holy Cross; Pioneer Football League -- University of Dayton; Southern Conference -- Wofford; Southwestern Athletic Conference -- Jackson State University; and the Ivy League -- Dartmouth.



The following institutions received their awards during the FCS ADA Luncheon sponsored by Borden Perlman Insurance Agency, on Monday, June 12 in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

Highest APR in
Most Improved for
Big Sky Conference UC Davis Cal Poly
Big South Conference Presbyterian Charleston Southern
Colonial Athletic Association Elon James Madison
MEAC South Carolina State Delaware State
Missouri Valley Illinois State Youngstown State
Northeast Conference Bryant Central Connecticut State
Ohio Valley Conference Murray State Tennessee Tech
Patriot League Holy Cross Colgate
Pioneer Football League Dayton Butler
Southern Conference Wofford Samford
Southland Conference Northwestern State Incarnate Word
SWAC Jackson State Arkansas Pine Bluff
Ivy League Dartmouth Brown

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 23rd year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 52nd year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.