. FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners

June 12, 2013

ORLANDO - The Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) has announced the recipients of the Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award.  The APR Award recognizes one institution at each of the 13 FCS conferences that has the highest APR score.  In addition, the Association also recognizes one institution from each conference that has improved the most from the previous year.  In all, 26 awards will be given this year.

"Our Association is once again delighted to present these awards to spotlight the true mission of all FCS programs, embracing the academic progress of their student-athletes," said FCS ADA President Ron Strollo, executive director of athletics at Youngstown State . "We are happy to continue to recognize the FCS institutions and their football programs for continuing to reach or maintain exemplary APR scores."

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) member colleges and universities adopted a comprehensive academic reform package designed to improve the academic success and graduation of all student-athletes.  The centerpiece of the package is the academic measurement for teams, known as the APR.    

The following institutions have been ranked in their respective conference with the highest APR score the past two years, Big South - Stony Brook; Ivy League - Yale; Ohio Valley - Austin Peay; Pioneer Football League - Davidson; and Southland - Central Arkansas. Austin Peay and Central Arkansas have earned this distinction three straight years, while Davidson has earned this distinction four years in a row.

Bethune-Cookman (Mid-Eastern) went from being the most improved in 2010-11, to recording the highest APR score in their conference in 2011-12.

The following institutions will receive their awards during the FCS ADA Luncheon sponsored by Borden Perlman Insurance Agency, on Thursday, June 13 in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

Highest APR in
Most Improved for
Big Sky Conference UC Davis Idaho State
Big South Conference Stony Brook Gardner-Webb
Colonial Athletic Association Maine Richmond
Ivy League Yale Cornell
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Bethune-Cookman Hampton
Missouri Valley Football Conference South Dakota State Southern Illinois
Northeast Conference Bryant Albany
Ohio Valley Conference Austin Peay State Jacksonville State
Patriot League Lafayette Lafeyette
Pioneer Football League Davidson Marist
Southern Conference Wofford Western Carolina
Southland Conference Central Arkansas Northwestern State
Southwestern Athletic Conference Alabama A&M Texas Southern

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 20th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 48th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.