. FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners

June 10, 2014

CLEVELAND - The Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) has announced the recipients of the Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award.  The APR Award recognizes one institution at each of the 13 FCS conferences that has the highest APR score.  In addition, the Association also recognizes one institution from each conference that has improved the most from the previous year.  In all, 25 awards will be given this year.

"Our Association is pleased to present these awards to spotlight one true mission of all FCS programs, embracing the academic progress of their student-athletes, who will become leaders off the field," said FCS ADA President Brian Hutchinson, director of athletics at Morehead State University. "We are happy to continue to recognize the FCS institutions and their football programs for continuing to reach exemplary APR scores."

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) member colleges and universities adopted a comprehensive academic reform package designed to improve the academic success and graduation of all student-athletes.  The centerpiece of the package is the academic measurement for teams, known as the APR.

The following institutions have been ranked in their respective conference with the highest APR score the past two years, Big Sky - UC Davis; Northeast Conference - Bryant; and Southern Conference - Wofford. Alabama A & M (SWAC) has earned this distinction for the third straight year, while Central Arkansas and Davidson earned this distinction for the fourth and fifth years in a row, respectively.

The following institutions received their awards during the FCS ADA Luncheon sponsored by Borden Perlman Insurance Agency, on Monday, June 9 in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

Highest APR in
Most Improved for
Big Sky Conference UC Davis Montana
Big South Conference Coastal Carolina Charleston Southern
Colonial Athletic Association New Hampshire William & Mary
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Howard Florida A&M
Missouri Valley Football Conference Northern Iowa Youngstown State
Northeast Conference Bryant Wagner
Ohio Valley Conference Tennessee Tech Murray State
Patriot League Holy Cross Bucknell
Pioneer Football League Davidson Butler
Southern Conference Wofford Appalachian State
Southland Conference Central Arkansas Stephen F. Austin
Southwestern Athletic Conference Alabama A&M Grambling State
Ivy League Dartmouth  

 About the FCS ADA: Now in its 21st year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 49th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.