. FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners

May 25, 2011

CLEVELAND - The Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) has announced the recipients of the Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award. The APR Award recognizes one institution at each of the 14 FCS conferences that has the highest APR score. In addition, the Association also recognizes one institution from each conference that has improved the most from the previous year. In all, 28 awards are given.

“The FCS AD’s Association is pleased to continue the program that was established a year ago to recognize institutions and their football programs for registering exemplary APR scores,” said President Greg Burke, athletics director at Northwestern State University. “These awards are an appropriate way to spotlight the true mission of all FCS programs, which is to graduate student-athletes who will be our leaders of tomorrow.”

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) member colleges and universities adopted a comprehensive academic reform package designed to improve the academic success and graduation of all student-athletes. The centerpiece of the package is the academic measurement for teams, known as the APR.

The following institutions will receive their awards during the FCS ADA Luncheon sponsored by Borden Perlman Insurance Agency, on Thursday, June 16 in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla.

Highest APR in 2009-10
Most Improved for 2009-10
Big Sky Northern Arizona California State Sacramento
Big South Gardner-Webb Virginia Military Institute
Colonial Athletic Association New Hampshire Delaware
Great West Football California Davis Cal Poly State
Ivy League Pennsylvania Cornell
Mid-Eastern Athletic Norfolk State North Carolina A&T State
Missouri Valley Football South Dakota State Indiana State
Northeast Monmouth Duquesne
Ohio Valley Austin Peay State Eastern Kentucky
Patriot League Georgetown Fordham
Pioneer Football League Davidson Jacksonville
Southern Wofford Tennessee Chattanooga
Southland Central Arkansas Northwestern State
Southwestern Athletic Alcorn State Alabama State

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 18th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 46th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.