. FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
FCS ADA Announces Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award Winners

May 20, 2010

CLEVELAND - The Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) has announced the inaugural recipients of the Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award. The APR Award will recognize one institution at each of the 14 FCS conferences that has the highest Academic Progress Rate (APR) score. In addition, the Association will also recognize one institution from each conference that has improved the most from the previous year. In all, 28 awards will be given.

"The FCS ADA continues to look for ways to recognize its institutions and support our mission of graduating student-athletes," said FCS ADA President Peter Fields, athletics director at Montana State University. "Using the APR as a measuring tool is another way for us to honor deserving institutions."

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) member colleges and universities adopted a comprehensive academic reform package designed to improve the academic success and graduation of all student-athletes. The centerpiece of the package is the academic measurement for teams, known as the APR.

The following institutions will receive their awards during the FCS ADA Luncheon sponsored by Borden Perlman Insurance Agency, on Tuesday, June 22 in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the Marriott Hotel in Anaheim, Calif.

Conference Highest APR in 2008-09 Most Improved for 2008-09
Big Sky Northern Colorado Montana
Big South Gardner-Webb N/A
Colonial Athletic Association Northeastern Hofstra
Great West Football California Polytechnic State Southern Utah
Ivy League Pennsylvania Columbia University- Barnard College
Mid-Eastern Athletic Norfolk State Florida A&M
Missouri Valley Football North Dakota State Indiana State
Northeast Duquesne Robert Morris
Ohio Valley Eastern Kentucky Jacksonville State
Patriot League Colgate Lehigh
Pioneer Football Davidson Drake
Southern Furman Wofford
Southland Sam Houston State Southeastern Louisiana
Southwestern Athletic Mississippi Valley State Alabama State

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 17th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 45th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.