. Ninth Annual Division I FCS ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year Chosen :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Ninth Annual Division I FCS ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year Chosen

March 29, 2010

CLEVELAND - Josh Cain, a defensive back from Jacksonville State University (JSU), and Andrew Miller, a linebacker from the University of North Dakota have been chosen as the recipients of the Ninth Annual Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Each will receive a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. The duo was selected from a group of six finalists. They will receive their awards during the FCS ADA Luncheon on Tuesday, June 22 at the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the Marriott Hotel in Anaheim, Calif.

"Each year, the FCS ADA looks forward to honoring deserving student-athletes at our annual luncheon in June," said FCS ADA President Peter Fields, chair of the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and athletics director at Montana State University. "Our Association is proud to continue recognizing deserving student-athletes with postgraduate scholarships. This year's recipients represent the high quality of the applicants, but the high number of extremely deserving candidates continues to be extremely impressive."

There were a total of 55 FCS players selected to the Academic All-Star Team in December, six of which were nominated for the postgraduate scholarships. Nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at their designated position.

Cain, who is currently pursuing a master's degree in computer systems and software designs, started all 11 games for the 2009 Gamecocks, who finished with an 8-3 record. He finished second on the team with 67 tackles and helped the defense lead the Ohio Valley Conference (OVC), allowing just 83 total points in seven OVC contests. JSU also led the OVC in scoring defense, pass defense, pass defense efficiency, turnover margin, opponent first downs, and opponent third down conversion. Off the field, Cain is a team huddle leader with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and volunteers with the Habitat for Humanity and Big Brothers/Big Sisters. In addition to earning numerous OVC honors, he was named to the American Football Coaches Association/All-State Good Works Team and was an ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America First Team selection in 2009.

Miller, a biology major who holds a perfect 4.0 grade point average and will attend medical school after graduation, tallied 44 tackles in 2009, including 29 unassisted stops. He recorded a career-high seven total tackles in the Great West Conference championship game. A three-time letterwinner, Miller amassed 105 career tackles and five tackles for loss. He was a two-time ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District First Team pick and was selected as an Academic All-America First Team member in 2008. In addition to his academic and athletics achievements, Miller is active in the Grand Forks community volunteering at various community service events.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Greg Burke, Northwestern State; Peter Fields, Montana State (chair); Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth; Ron Strollo, Youngstown State; Jeff Tingey, Idaho State; and Tim Van Alstine, Western Illinois.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 17th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com.  The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 45th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.

Photos courtesy of Jacksonville State and North Dakota