. FCS ADA Announces Scholar-Athletes of the Year :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
FCS ADA Announces Scholar-Athletes of the Year

March 21, 2012

CLEVELAND - Mitch Allen, a quarterback from Wofford College and Ben Boothby, a tackle from the University of Northern Iowa (UNI), have been chosen as the recipients of the 11th Annual Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

Each will receive a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. The duo was selected from a group of 12 finalists. They will receive their awards during the Association's annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, June 25-28.

"Each year, the FCS ADA is proud to honor its deserving student-athletes with the Academic All-Star team in early January. The selection of the Postgraduate Scholarship recipients marks the culmination of our annual process and we want to congratulate both Mitch and Ben on receiving this year's Scholarships," said FCS ADA President Marilyn McNeil, chair of the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and vice-president/director of athletics at Monmouth University. "Each year, the committee is tasked with selecting two individuals from a plethora of deserving scholar-athletes, which is a reflection of the importance of academic success within Division I FCS institutions."

Mitch Allen

Allen, a math and computer science major, who owns a 3.96 GPA, started all 11 games at quarterback and led the Terriers to their second straight FCS playoff appearance. In addition to his 700+ yards passing and four touchdowns, Allen tallied 700 rushing yards and 10 touchdowns. He is 10th all-time in career rushing and touchdowns at Wofford with 2,418 yards and 23 touchdowns, respectively. He was named to the FCS ADA All-Star team and the Southern Conference (SoCon) Fall All-Academic Team three straight years, earned the team's award for highest GPA twice and was on the SoCon Academic Honor Roll each year, along with Wofford's Dean's List.

Ben Boothby

Boothby, who plans on attending medical school, received his undergraduate degree in kinesiology in May 2011. On the field, Boothby started all 12 games and led UNI with 7.5 sacks and 16 tackles for loss. Overall, he had 75 tackles, recovered a fumble and helped UNI's defense hold opponents to just 16.6 points per game, which ranked fourth overall in the FCS. His 16 tackles for loss led the Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC). Boothby is a two-time first-team All-MVFC recipient, two-time first-team MVGC All-Academic selection and a second-team Capital One Academic All-America pick. He was a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell trophy, a candidate for the Buck Buchanan Award and a finalist for the ARA Sportsmanship Award. 

There were a total of 58 FCS players selected to the Academic All-Star Team in January.  Nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at their designated position.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth (chair); Greg Burke, Northwestern State; Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Ron Strollo, Youngstown State; and Jeff Tingey, Idaho State.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 19th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 47th year. For more information on NACDA and the 12 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.