. 14th Annual Division I FCS ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year Chosen :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
14th Annual Division I FCS ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year Chosen

March 19, 2015

CLEVELAND - Troy McClelland, a linebacker/safety from the University of San Diego and Zach Zenner, a running back from South Dakota State University, have been chosen as the recipients of the 14th Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

Each will receive a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. The duo was selected from a group of 10 finalists. They will receive their awards during the Association's annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida, June 11-19.

"The FCS ADA is pleased to offer its postgraduate scholarships for the 14th-straight year," stated FCS ADA President Ken Beazer, director of athletics, Southern Utah University. "We had an impressive group of 10 finalists this season, and are proud to congratulate Troy and Zach on this achievement."

photo courtesy of USDMcClelland, an accounting major who owns a 3.89 GPA, started all 10 games and finished the season ranked third on the team in tackles with 62, including 35 solo stops. He chipped in six tackles for loss, two interceptions and six pass breakups, and was named the Patriot Football League Player of the Week on October 26. During his career, McClelland was a two-time Capital One Academic All-District VIII selection, a 2014 Campbell Trophy Semifinalist, All-PFL Second Team Defense honoree and three-time team scholar-athlete of the year. McClelland received a job offer from Big 4 firm PwC following his summer internship with the organization.

"I am honored, yet humbled to accept the FCS Postgraduate Scholarship," said McClelland. "It's a special feeling to know that the selection committee has recognized the hard work I've put in on and off the field at USD the past four and a half years and to them, I am thankful. In addition, I'd like to thank my family, my coaches, my teammates, my professors, the athletic training staff, the strength staff, the academic support program and the entire athletics department for all the support over the years. This award could not have been achieved without everyone involved. I'm excited for the next chapter of my life, yet forever grateful for my time at the University of San Diego."

Zenner carries a 3.86 GPA as a biology/pre-medicine major photo courtesy of South Dakota Statewith postgraduate plans to attend medical school. He started all 13 games in 2014, posting 305 carries for 1,886 total yards and earning 20 rushing touchdowns and four receiving touchdowns. Zenner is one of only two players in FCS history to rush for 2,000 yards in two separate seasons, and was a two-time consensus All-America selection during his career. He is a Missouri Valley Football conference career record holder with 6,415 rushing yards, 8,075 all-purpose yards, 59 rushing touchdowns and 67 total touchdowns. Zenner was a three-time first team all-MVFC selection and a two-time Capital One Academic All-America selection.

"It is an honor and a privilege to be named a recipient of the FCS ADA postgraduate scholarship," Zenner said. "I think it is awesome that this Association promotes postgraduate education with this scholarship, and I can't wait to put it to good use at the Sanford School of Medicine."

There were a total of 50 FCS players selected to the Academic All-Star Team in January. Nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at their designated position.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the All-Star team and Scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Ken Beazer (chair); Ken Beazer, Southern Utah; Thorr Bjorn, Rhode Island; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Jeff Tingey, Idaho State and Mark Wilson, Tennessee Tech.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 22st year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 50th year. For more information on NACDA and the 15 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.