. 18th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Released :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
18th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Released

Jan. 8, 2016

2015 FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

CLEVELAND -- The 52 winners of the 18th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team were announced by the FCS ADA, today. There were 96 total nominees. The Big Sky Conference led all leagues with nine student-athletes named to the All-Star Team, and the Missouri Valley Football Conference followed with eight award winners from its member institutions.

"The FCS ADA is proud to recognize its Academic All-Star Team for the 18th consecutive year," stated FCS ADA President Jeff Tingey, director of athletics, Idaho State University. "It is extremely admirable what our football student-athletes continue to accomplish in the classroom and on the field and we are excited to recognize them for their efforts."

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for the award. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Additionally, from the Academic All-Star team, 10 finalists were selected for the 15th Annual FCS ADA $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarships.  Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association's annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the 2016 National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas, Texas, June 13-15.

The finalists are Christopher Beaschler, University of Dayton, LB, 3.68 GPA; James Cowser, Southern Utah University, DL, 4.0 GPA; Derek Crittenden, University of Montana, DL, 4.0 GPA; Joe Crochet, The Citadel, DL, 3.81 GPA; Nick Faraci, Robert Morris University, OL, 3.94 GPA; Mark Iannotti, Southern Illinois University, QB, 3.89 GPA; Jacob Judd, Western Illinois University, OL, 3.9 GPA; Jacob Rathmacher, University of Northern Iowa, OL, 3.87 GPA; Stephen Sippel, Cal Poly, OL, 3.84 GPA; and Jake Withnell, Eastern Washington University, TE, 3.91 GPA.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Jeff Tingey, Idaho State (chair); Thorr Bjorn, Rhode Island; Bruce McCutcheon, Lafayette; and Mark Wilson, Tennessee Tech.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 22nd year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 51st year. For more information on NACDA and the 15 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.