. 19th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
19th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

Jan. 6, 2017

2016 FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

CLEVELAND -- The 44 winners of the 19th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team were announced by the FCS ADA, today. There were 126 total nominees. The Missouri Valley Football Conference led all leagues with 11 student-athletes named to the All-Star Team, and the Ivy League and Pioneer Football League followed with six award winners each from their member institutions.

"The FCS ADA is honored to recognize these football student-athletes selected to the 19th annual Academic All-Star Team," stated FCS ADA President Mark Wilson, director of athletics at Tennessee Tech University. "We are proud that these young men continue to accomplish high achievement in the classroom, on the field, in the community and we are excited to recognize them for their efforts."

To view the complete list of winners, click here.

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for the award. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Additionally, from the Academic All-Star team, nine finalists were selected for the 16th Annual FCS ADA $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarships. Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association’s annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the 2017 National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida, June 12-15.

The finalists are Christopher Beaschler, University of Dayton, LB, 3.73 GPA; Joe Crochet, The Citadel, LB, 3.82 GPA; Nick Mears, South Dakota State University, S, 4.00 GPA; Karter Schult, University of Northern Iowa, DL, 3.87 GPA; Mark Spelman, Illinois State University, C, 3.70 GPA; Tyler Swafford, Eastern Kentucky University, QB, 4.00 GPA; Micah Tennant, Lehigh University, OL, 3.90 GPA; Anton Wahrby, Wofford College, OL, 3.83 GPA; and Jake Wieczorek, College of the Holy Cross, WR/KR, 3.90 GPA.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Mark Wilson, Tennessee Tech (chair); Thorr Bjorn, Rhode Island; Bruce McCutcheon, Lafayette; and Bill Smith, Bryant.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 23rd year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 52nd year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.