. 20th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
20th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

Jan. 5, 2018

2017 FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

CLEVELAND -- The 49 winners of the 20th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team were announced today. There were 115 total nominees. The Missouri Valley Football Conference led all leagues with 9 student-athletes named to the All-Star Team, and the Ivy League followed with eight award winners from their member institutions.

“One of the most important responsibilities that the FCS ADA has is the selection of the Annual Academic All Star Team, stated FCS ADA President Thorr Bjorn, director of athletics at University of Rhode Island. “The 49 young men selected this year are truly impressive. They have been leaders on their individual campuses and have excelled in the classroom, their communities as well as on the football field. They represent the best and the brightest within FCS football and now we have the honor of naming them to the 2017 Academic All Star Team.”

To view the complete list of winners, click here.

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for the award. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Additionally, from the Academic All-Star team, nine finalists were selected for the 17th Annual FCS ADA $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarships. Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association’s annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the 2018 National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center in Washington, D.C., June 28-30.

The finalists are Chris Schroer, Columbia University, RB, 3.94 GPA; Jack Heneghan, Dartmouth College, QB, 3.79 GPA; Justin Lea, Jacksonville State University, OL, 3.92 GPA; Chandler Burks, Kennesaw State University, QB, 3.88 GPA; Easton Stick, North Dakota State University, QB, 3.91 GPA; Marlon Walls, Stephen F. Austin State University, DB, 4.00 GPA; Max Michaels, University of San Diego, DB, 3.95 GPA; Brett Taylor, Western Illinois University, LB, 3.90 GPA; Jacob Judd, Western Illinois University, OL, 4.00 GPA.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Thorr Bjorn, Rhode Island (chair); Bruce McCutcheon, Lafayette; Bill Smith, Bryant; and Nathan Pine, Holy Cross.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 24th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 53rd year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.