. 13th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Named :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
13th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Named

Jan. 4, 2011

CLEVELAND -- The 52 winners of the 13th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team were announced by the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA), today. There were 92 total nominees.

“The FCS ADA looks forward to honoring the accomplishments of its football student-athletes each year with the announcement of the Academic All-Star Team,” said FCS ADA President Greg Burke, chair of the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and athletics director at Northwestern State University. “The dedication by these young men to perform successfully both on the field of competition and in the classroom epitomizes the definition of a Division I student-athlete.”

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Additionally, from the Academic All-Star team, eight finalists were selected for the 10th Annual FCS ADA’s $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association’s annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida., June 16-18, 2011.

The finalists are seniors Chance Coda, Southern Illinois, DL, 4.0; Kyle Glazier, Western Illinois, LB, 3.88; Tim McGraw, Northern Colorado, OL, 4.0; Travis Nissley, Bucknell, LB, 3.96; Dave Pickard, Southern Illinois, OL, 4.0; Tanner Scott, Dartmouth, WR, 3.83; Erik Stoll, Montana, DB, 3.92; and Brandon Wingeier, Dayton, DL, 3.78.



A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Greg Burke, Northwestern State (chair); Peter Fields, Montana State; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth; Ron Strollo, Youngstown State; and Jeff Tingey, Idaho State.

For a complete listing of the 52 members of the Football Championship Subdivision Academic All-Star Team, click here.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 18th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com.  The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 46th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.