. 14th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Named :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
14th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Named

Jan. 3, 2012

Complete FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

CLEVELAND -- The 58 winners of the 14th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team were announced by the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA), today.  There were 92 total nominees.

“The FCS ADA is honored to recognize the accomplishments of our football student-athletes each year with the Academic All-Star team,” said FCS ADA President Marilyn McNeil, chair of the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and vice-president/director of athletics at Monmouth University. “These young men compete successfully both on the field and in the classroom and truly epitomize the definition of a student-athlete.”

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Additionally, from the Academic All-Star team, 12 finalists were selected for the 11th Annual FCS ADA’s $5,000 postgraduate scholarship.  Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association’s annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, June 25-28, 2012.



The finalists are seniors Justin Aldredge, Northwestern State, TE, 3.90; Mitch Allen, Wofford, QB, 3.96; Tim Bolte, Bucknell, LB, 3.93; Ben Boothby, Northern Iowa, DT, 3.89; Yaser Elqutub, Northwestern State, LB, 3.85; Jordan Haynes, Yale, LB, 3.62; Kalan Jenkins, Georgia State, NG, 3.94; Marcus Lott, Coastal Carolina, S, 3.91; Mike McCabe, Holy Cross, OT, 3.62; Mike McElroy, Southern Illinois, S, 3.73; Matt Rae, Rhode Island, DT, 3.71; and Patrick Witt, Yale, QB, 3.91.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth (chair); Greg Burke, Northwestern State; Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Ron Strollo, Youngstown State; and Jeff Tingey, Idaho State.

For a complete listing of the 58 members of the Football Championship Subdivision Academic All-Star Team, click here.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 19th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit www.fcsada.com. The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 46th year. For more information on NACDA and the 12 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.