. Denver Captures Sixth Straight DI-AAA ADA All-Sports Trophy; All-Sports Trophy Winners Released :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Denver Captures Sixth Straight DI-AAA ADA All-Sports Trophy; All-Sports Trophy Winners Released

July 25, 2018

CLEVELAND – The University of Denver captured an unprecedented sixth consecutive Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) All-Sports Trophy for the 2017-18 year.

For the tenth time in 11 years, the University of Denver Pioneers finish as the top-ranked Division I-AAA institution in the Learfield Directors’ Cup standings.

“I’d like to extend a sincere congratulations to the University of Denver for winning the 2017-18 DI-AAA ADA All-Sports Trophy,” said and Director of Athletics at Mount St. Mary’s University current DI-AAA ADA President, Lynne Robinson. “It is their tenth All-Sports Trophy in 11 years, and sixth straight and the Pioneers have once again shown why they are one of the preeminent athletics programs in the country. Congratulations to DI-AAA ADA Past President Peg Bradley-Doppes, AD Karlton Creech, the Denver staff, student-athletes and the rest of Pioneer Nation for their unparalleled success.”

Over the course of the year, 11 of Denver’s 16 eligible sports scored points en route to 529.25 total points, including the Pioneer ski team capturing the national title. Overall, Denver has earned six consecutive top 55 finishes in the DI Learfield Directors’ Cup Standings as the top performing DI-AAA institution. Read more about Pioneer Nation’s success in 2017-18 at denverpioneers.com.

The following institutions finished atop the 2017-18 DI-AAA ADA All-Sports Standings in their respective sport:

baseball – Cal State Fullerton; men’s basketball – Loyola Chicago; women’s basketball – Creighton University, DePaul University, Florida Gulf Coast University, and Marquette University; men’s cross country – University of Portland; women’s cross country – University of San Francisco; men’s golf – University of North Florida; women’s golf – Pepperdine University; men’s soccer – UNC Wilmington, University of the Pacific, University of San Francisco, Seattle University, and VCU; women’s soccer – Santa Clara University; softball – Cal State Fullerton; women’s swimming – University of Denver; men’s tennis – Cleveland State University, UNC Wilmington, UC Santa Barbara, VCU, University of North Florida, and Marquette University; women’s tennis – Pepperdine University; men’s indoor track & field – Wichita State University; women’s indoor track & field – Providence College; men’s outdoor track & field – Northeastern University; women’s outdoor track & field – UT Arlington; women’s volleyball – Creighton University, and Wichita State University.

About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 18th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 98 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 54th year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.