. Denver Takes Home Division I-AAA ADA All-Sports Trophy for 2016-17; All-Sports Trophy Winners Announced :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Denver Takes Home Division I-AAA ADA All-Sports Trophy for 2016-17; All-Sports Trophy Winners Announced

July 5, 2017

CLEVELAND – The University of Denver was honored with the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) All-Sports trophy for the 2016-17 year. For the fifth year in a row, Denver was the top-ranked Division I-AAA institution in the Learfield Directors’ Cup standings. The Pioneers have captured the title nine of the last 10 years.

Denver tallied 634.25 total points, which included a national championship in men’s hockey.

“There are many very strong DI-AAA programs and for Denver to repeat as winners of the All-Sports Trophy says a great deal about their leadership and student-athletes,” said incoming DI-AAA ADA President Tim Hall, director of athletics, physical education and recreation at UMBC. “Congratulations to Peg Bradley-Doppes, her entire staff and all of Pioneer Nation on their unparalleled success in the 2016-17 season.”

Rounding out the top-five in Division I were Pepperdine in second with 327 points, Providence in third with 252 points, SIU Edwardsville in fourth with 213.5 points, and in fifth, Creighton with 212 points.

The following institutions captured 2016-17 DI-AAA ADA All-Sports Trophies: baseball – Cal State Fullerton; men’s basketball – Gonzaga; men’s cross country – Iona; women’s cross country – San Francisco; men’s golf – Pepperdine; women’s golf – Pepperdine; men’s soccer – Denver; women’s soccer – Santa Clara; softball – Cal State Fullerton and Longwood; women’s swimming – UMBC; men’s tennis – Florida Gulf Coast, Denver, UNC Wilmington, UC Santa Barbara, UMKC and VCU; women’s tennis – Pepperdine; men’s indoor track & field – SIU Edwardsville; women’s indoor track & field – Providence; men’s outdoor track & field – Iona; women’s outdoor track & field – San Francisco; and women’s volleyball – Creighton.



About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 17th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 98 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 53rd year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.