. Division I-AAA ADA Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams, Scholar-Athletes of the Year and Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Division I-AAA ADA Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams, Scholar-Athletes of the Year and Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

April 17, 2015

CLEVELAND -- The 20 winners of the 13th Annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Scholar-Athlete Teams were announced today by the Association. In addition, the Association also selected both a men's and women's scholar-athlete of the year and postgraduate scholarship winners.

"Our Association congratulates this year's scholar-athlete award winners," stated Tim Hall, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. "We pride ourselves in honoring deserving student-athletes who exemplify I-AAA athletics and this year is no different, as we recognize the scholar-athletes of the year and the postgraduate scholarship recipients for their outstanding accomplishments."

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, he/she must have reached JUNIOR academic standing at their institution (ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible). To be eligible for the postgraduate scholarship, he/she must have completed eight semesters or the equivalent number of quarters at their institution. Preference was given to those on track to graduate in spring/summer 2015.

Additionally, from the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete was selected as the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Receiving the women's honor was Jennifer Dumiak, a mathematics major from American University, with a 4.0 GPA; while the men's award went to Craig Bradshaw, a public relations major from Belmont University, who holds a 3.51 GPA.

Jenna Cobb, a communications study major from Florida Gulf Coast University with a 3.59 GPA, and John Kopriva, a chemistry major from George Washington University, with a 3.93 GPA, were selected as the 2015 postgraduate scholarship recipients. Each will receive $5,000 towards postgraduate studies and will be given their awards during the Association's annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., June 15-18.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors were responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Tim Hall; Amanda Braun, Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Hogan, Seattle; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; Phillip Hutcheson, Lipscomb; Chris King, UTPA; and Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul.

About Division I-AAA ADA:
Now in its 14th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 99 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 50th year. For more information on NACDA and the 14 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.



Men's Scholar-Athlete Team

Name Instutution GPA Major
Craig Bradshaw Belmont University 3.51 Public Relations
John Kopriva George WashingtonUniversity 3.93 Chemistry
Khufu Najee IUPUI 3.60 Sports Journalism
Dion Nesmith Hofstra University 3.38 Finance/Business Analytics
Mark Nwakamma University of Hartford 3.28 Biology
Kevin Pangos Gonzaga University 3.21 Physical Education
Corey Petros Oakland University 3.43 Business Administration
Matthew Stainbrook Xavier University 3.33 Finance
Thomas van der Mars University of Portland 4.00 Business Administration/Technology Management
Corban Wroe University of Hartford 3.71 HealthSciences

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Craig Bradshaw, Belmont University
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient: John Kopriva, George Washington University

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team

Name Institution GPA Major
Sarah Bendetti St.Francis Brooklyn 3.96 Political Science
Jennifer Dumiak American University 4.00 Mathematics
Sonja Greinacher Gonzaga University 3.52 Psychology
Stephanie Haas Florida Gulf Coast University 3.84 CriminalJustice
Brittany Hrynko DePaul University 3.31 Sociology
Kelsey Jacobs Wichita State University 4.00 Sport Management
Bryahna "Lucy" Mason UNC - Greensboro 3.86 Economics/African Studies
Vicki McIntyre Oral Roberts University 3.42 Leadership of Business Administration
Megan Podkowa DePaul University 3.86 MathematicalSciences
Haley Seibert IPFW 3.52 CommunicationScience &Disorders

Scholar-Athlete of theYear: Jennifer Dumiak, American University
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient: Jenna Cobb, Florida Gulf Coast University