. Division I-AAA ADA Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams and Inaugural Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Division I-AAA ADA Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams and Inaugural Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

April 8, 2011

CLEVELAND -- The 21 winners of the ninth annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Scholar-Athlete Teams were announced today by the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA). In addition, the Association also selected both a men's and women's scholar-athlete of the year and postgraduate scholarship winner.

"The Division I-AAA ADA wants to extend its congratulations to the student-athletes for their outstanding academic and athletics achievements," stated Tim Hall, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at the University of Missouri Kansas City. "These award winners epitomize what it means to be a student-athlete and we share the joy of acknowledging their momentous accomplishments."

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. He/she must have reached junior athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution (true freshmen, red-shirt freshmen and ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible) and have completed at least three academic semesters/five quarters at the nominated institution. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games listed on the nomination form.

Additionally, from the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete was selected as the Division I-AAA Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Receiving the women's honor was Kayla Tetschlag, a business administration major from the University of Wisconsin Green Bay, with a 3.80 GPA; while the men's award went to Mick Hedgepeth, an accounting major from Belmont University, with a 3.71 GPA.

Brittany Carnago, a sociology and psychology major from Oakland University with a 3.90 GPA, and Steven Weingarten, a history and American studies major from LaSalle University with a 3.86 GPA, were selected as the inaugural postgraduate scholarship recipients. Each will receive $5,000 towards postgraduate studies and will be given their awards during the Association's annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., June 16-18.



A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors were responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Tim Hall; Pete Carlon, Texas Arlington; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul; and Dave Mullins, East Tennessee State.

Men's Scholar-Athlete Team  
Name Instituion GPA Major
Benjamin Botts IPFW 3.61 Business Management
Dorian Dunson Bradley 3.67 Social Work
Evan Fjeld Vermont 3.23 Business Administration
Graham Hatch Wichita State 3.67 Chemistry
Tony Meier Wisconsin Milwaukee 3.64 Business
Mick Hedgepeth Belmont 3.71 Accounting
Kaleb Korver Creighton 3.40 Business Management
Greg Logins Canisius 3.48 Sport Administration
Ryan Olander Fairfield 3.63 Marketing
Brian Stafford Denver 3.73 Finance
Steve Weingarten LaSalle 3.86 History & American Studies
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Mick Hedgepeth
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient:  Steve Weingarten
Women's Scholar-Athlete Team  
Name Instituion GPA Major
Grace Blaylock North Carolina Asheville 3.86 Health & Wellness Promotion
Brittany Carnago Oakland 3.90 Sociology & Biology
Courtney Chihil Florida Gulf Coast 3.86 Nursing
Keisha Hampton DePaul 3.26 Communications & Media
Celeste Hoewisch Wisconsin Green Bay 3.40 Human Biology
Michelle Kurowski Maryland Baltimore County 3.82 Psychology
Joelle Nawrocki Fairfield 3.32 Business Management
Sam Quigley DePaul 3.54 Physical Education/Health
Mary Silvia Hartford 3.93 Entrepreneurial Studies &
Kayla Tetschlag Wisconsin Green Bay 3.80 Business Administration
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kayla Tetschlag
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient:  Brittany Carnago

About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 10th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 45th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.