. UPDATE: Division I-AAA ADs Association Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
UPDATE: Division I-AAA ADs Association Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams

May 27, 2010

CLEVELAND – The Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Scholar-Athlete Teams, originally announced on April 7, have been adjusted.

In the April 7 release, three student-athletes whose institutions sponsor football, were inadvertently placed on the teams (Matt Howard, Butler; Adam Templeton, Drake; and Kristin Daugherty, Dayton). The Division I-AAA ADA has corrected the teams with the following:

On the men’s side, Evan Fjeld from Vermont and Devin Gibson from UTSA, who were previously honorable mention selections, are now on the Scholar-Athlete team. Frank Turner from Canisius has been added as an honorable mention selection, while Yves Mekongo from LaSalle has been named the 2010 Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

For the women, Kailey Klein of Cleveland State, an honorable mention choice in the first release, has been moved to the Scholar-Athlete team.

About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its ninth year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 95 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 45th year. For more information on NACDA and the 11 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.

 Men’s Scholar-Athlete Team

Name, Institution, GPA, Major
Benjamin Botts, IPFW, 3.75, Business Management
Graham Hatch, Wichita State, 3.73, Chemistry
Evan Fjeld, Vermont, 3.23, Business
Devin Gibson, UTSA, 3.22, Infrastructure Assurance & Information Systems 
Sam Maniscalco, Bradley, 3.38, Sports Communication
Yves Mekongo*, LaSalle, 3.81, Integrated. Science, Business & Technology
Tyler Morris, Boston University, 3.30, Business Administration/Management
Nick Schneiders, USC Upstate, 3.71, Graphic Design
Robin Smeulders, Portland, 3.39, Marketing/Management
Steve Weingarten, LaSalle, 3.88, History
* Scholar-Athlete of the Year


Honorable Mention: 

Frank Turner, Canisius                         


Women’s Scholar-Athlete Team

Name, Institution, GPA, Major
Miranda Ayim *, Pepperdine, 3.71, Public Relations
Felicia Chester, DePaul, 3.79, Sociology
Celeste Hoewisch, Wisconsin Green Bay, 3.30, Human Biology
Melissa Jeltema, Oakland, 3.59, Wellness, Health & Promotion of Injury Prevention
Michelle Kirk, American, 3.73, Communication Studies
Kailey Klein, Cleveland State, 3.38, Finance
Morgan Robertson, LaSalle, 3.89, Political Science/Psychology
Sam Schuett, Creighton, 3.77, Accounting
Kayla Tetschlag, Wisconsin Green Bay, 3.78, Business Administration
Jenny VanKirk, Bradley, 4.0, Pre-med
* Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Honorable Mention: 
Amanda Kemezys, St. Louis; Dana Mitchell, St. Bonaventure; and Brigid Mulroy, Detroit Mercy