. Division I-AAA ADs Association Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Division I-AAA ADs Association Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams

April 6, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Cleveland, Ohio -- The 21 winners of the fifth annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Scholar-Athlete Teams were announced today by the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA).

"We are very proud of these winners," says Jean Lenti Ponsetto, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at DePaul University. "They personify the definition of `student-athlete' and we are proud to have our Association affiliated with such a quality group of individuals."

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. He/she must have reached sophomore athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He/she must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his/her designated position.

Additionally, from the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete were selected as the Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Receiving the women's honor was Sarah Tyler McIIwraith, an early childhood education major from Saint Louis University, with a 3.93 GPA; while the men's award went to Anthony Tolliver, a finance major from Creighton University, with a 3.53 GPA.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors was responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul; Jerry Baker, Charleston; Pete Carlon, Texas Arlington; Gary Cunningham, UC Santa Barbara; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; John Planek, Loyola (Ill.); and Scott Street, Texas Pan American.

Now in its sixth year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (those Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. The Association is administered by NACDA, now in its 42nd year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,000 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers nine professional associations for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics director.

Men's Scholar-Athlete Team
Name Institution GPA Major
Kurt Attaway University of Texas San Antonio 4.00 Psychology
Scott Dougherty Santa Clara University 3.57 Chemistry
Michael Haddix Siena College 3.22 Psychology
Justin Hare Belmont University 3.85 Exercise Science
Charles Harris Canisius College 3.60 Digital Media Arts
Brian Hodges University of Maryland Baltimore County 3.52 Economics
Martin Klimes University of Vermont 3.84 Business Administration/Finance
Sean P. Mallon Gonzaga University 3.53 Master of Organizational Leadership
Luke James Meyer Saint Louis University 3.76 Accounting
Mike Schachtnter University of Wisconsin Green Bay 3.84 General Studies
Anthony Tolliver Creighton University 3.53 Finance
Honorable Mention: Mitch Henke, Santa Clara University.

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team
Name Institution GPA Major
Kenan Lindsay Cole George Washington University 3.92 Mechanical Engineering
Jenna Marie Green University of California Santa Barbara 3.31 Black Studies/Sociology
Sabrina Nicole Gregory University of North Carolina Charlotte 3.75 Mathematics
Stephanie L. Hawk Gonzaga University 3.84 Master of Business Administration
Sarah-Jo Lawrence George Washington University 3.82 Communications/Sociology
Sarah Tyler Mcllwraith Saint Louis University 3.93 Early Childhood Education
Nicole Piggot Oakland University 3.95 Clinical Lab Science
Amanda Lee Popp University of Wisconsin Green Bay 3.79 Human Development
Allie Quigley Depaul University 3.80 Physical Education
Jenna Rubino DePaul University 3.50 Communications
Honorable Mention: Jessica Pike, Oakland University