. Call for Nominations - DI-AAA ADA Gary Cunningham Lifetime Achievement Award :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Call for Nominations - DI-AAA ADA Gary Cunningham Lifetime Achievement Award

April 4, 2018

CLEVELAND - The Division IAAA Athletics Directors Association has launched the nominations process for the fourteenth annual Gary Cunningham Lifetime Achievement Award.  To be bestowed annually upon an individual who, for a minimum of 15 years as a Director of Athletics and 25 years in total, has contributed to intercollegiate athletics in such a manner as to bring honor to themselves, their institution(s), and the profession as a whole.  Honorees must be either a current member in good standing of the DI-AAA ADA or have been in such regard prior to their retirement from the field or whenever they departed their most recent DI-AAA institution.  

Members of the Lifetime Achievement Award Committee and current DI-AAA ADA Officers are not eligible for the honor. For confirmation of who these individuals are you can check our DI-AAA ADA home page via the NACDA website here.

Previous Honorees:

2017 - Tom Hickman (Winthrop University)
2016 - Nelson Bobb (UNC-Greensboro)

2015 - Jack McDonald (Quinnipiac University)
2014 - Pat Meiser (University of Hartford)
2013 - Brian Quinn (Cal State Fullerton)
2012 - Dave Gavitt (Big East Conference and Providence College)
2011 - Joe Etzel (University of Portland)
2010 - Tom O’Connor (George Mason University)
2009 - Don DiJulia (Saint Joseph’s University)
2008 - Mike Cusack (Wright State University)
2007 - Jim Byers (University of Evansville)
2006 - Jim Jarrett (Old Dominion University)
2005 - Gary Cunningham (University of California Santa Barbara)

Nominations are due by Friday, May 4.  Nominees and nominators must both be active members in good standing (i.e., paid member) – with the exception of individuals who retired or were in such regard whenever they departed their most recent DI-AAA institution.



DI-AAA Athletics Directors Association Gary Cunningham Lifetime Achievement Award Nomination Form

Please contact Ken Kavanagh (239-590-7007/kavanagh@fgcu.edu) if you have any questions.

About the Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 17th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 53rd year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.