. Division I-AAA ADA Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams, Scholar-Athletes of the Year and Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
Division I-AAA ADA Announces Scholar-Athlete Teams, Scholar-Athletes of the Year and Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

March 31, 2014

CLEVELAND -- The 20 winners of the 12th Annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Scholar-Athlete Teams were announced today by the Association. In addition, the Association also selected both a men's and women's scholar-athlete of the year and postgraduate scholarship winners.

"Our Association prides itself in honoring our student-athletes for both their on-field and academic achievements each year," stated Tim Hall, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. "We want to congratulate this year's scholar-athlete award winners, the scholar-athletes of the year and the Postgraduate Scholarship recipients for their outstanding accomplishments."

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, he/she must have reached JUNIOR academic standing at their institution (ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible). To be eligible for the Postgraduate Scholarship, he/she must have completed eight semesters or the equivalent number of quarters at their institution. Preference was given to those on track to graduate in spring/summer 2014.

Additionally, from the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete was selected as the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Receiving the women's honor was Amanda Hyde, a mathematics teaching major from the Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, with a 3.97 GPA; while the men's award went to Holton Hunsaker, an accounting major from Utah Valley University, with a 3.88 GPA.

Eilise O'Connor, a chemistry major from University of Missouri Kansas City, with a 3.99 GPA, and Ryan Nicholas, a psychology major from University of Portland, with a 3.52 GPA, were selected as the 2014 postgraduate scholarship recipients. Each will receive $5,000 towards postgraduate studies and will be given their awards during the Association's annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., June 9-12.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors were responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Tim HallDon DiJulia, St. Joseph's; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Hogan, Seattle; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; and Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul.

About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 13th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 99 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 49th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.

2014 Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Teams

Men's Scholar-Athlete Team
Name University GPA Major
Richard Bader Oakland University 3.510 Communications
Holton Hunsaker Utah Valley University 3.880 Accounting
Malte Kramer Pepperdine University 4.000 Economics
Walt Lemon Jr. Bradley University 3.380 Psychology
John Stuart Mann Belmont University 3.510 Economics/Minor Spanish
Ryan Nicholas University of Portland 3.520 Psychology
Matthew Stainbrook Xavier University 3.343 Finance 
Thomas Van der Mars University of Portland 3.950 Operations & Technology Management
Ethan Wragge Creighton University 3.220 Finance, Marketing, Entrepreneurship
Corban Wroe University of Hartford 3.720 Health Science/Physical Therapy

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient: Ryan Nicholas, Portland

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team
Name University GPA Major
Alexis Dobbs American University 3.810 Public Health/Minor Biology
Jen Dumiak American University 3.940 Mathematics & Economics
Sarah Hansen Florida Gulf Coast University 3.880 Chemistry/Minor Mathematics
Amanda Hyde Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne 3.970 Mathematics/Minor Psychology
Katie Fox St. Francis College Brooklyn 4.000 English & History
Dequesha McClanahan Winthrop University 3.339 Exericise Science
Eilise O'Connor University of Missouri
Kansas City
3.990 Chemistry
Haley Seilbert Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne 3.980 Communication Science and Disorders
Erin Shields Saint Joseph's University 3.820 Finance & Accounting
Kacie Sowell Seattle University 3.526 Sports & Exercise Science

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Amanda Hyde, IPFW
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient: Eilise O'Connor, UMKC