» «
Division I Learfield Sports Directors' Cup Standings

April 29, 2010


Divsion I Release

With 962 overall points, Stanford remains in the lead in the final winter Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup Standings. The Cardinal scored 592 winter points, with top-10 finishes in women’s basketball, men’s gymnastics, women’s gymnastics, men’s swimming, women’s swimming and National Collegiate (NC) fencing.

Ohio State remains in second with 813.50 overall points, 540.50 points from this winter. Top-10 finishes for the Buckeyes include fourth place in NC fencing, sixth in men’s gymnastics, eighth in wrestling and ninth in both men’s basketball and men’s swimming.

In third place with 726.80 total points is Penn State. The Nittany Lions recently finished eighth in men’s gymnastics and 13th in women’s gymnastics. Previously, they captured the NC fencing championship, finished ninth in wrestling, 13th in women’s track and field, 14th in men’s track and field and 47th in women’s swimming for a winter total of 408.30 points.

Trailing Penn State by only 3.80 points is Florida with 723 total points. Florida tallied 455 winter points after capturing both the women’s swimming and men’s track and field championships. The Gators also finished fourth in women’s track and field, fifth in both men’s swimming and women’s gymnastics and 33rd in men’s basketball.

Minnesota stands in fifth place with 681.75 total points. The Gophers scored 487.75 winter points after finishing third in NC women’s ice hockey, seventh in both men’s gymnastics and wrestling, eighth in men’s track and field, 12th in women’s swimming, 14th in men’s swimming, 19th in women’s gymnastics, 33rd in men’s basketball and 39th in women’s track and field.

All 15 winter NCAA championships have been completed with the following institutions capturing titles: Boston College (men’s ice hockey), Connecticut (women’s basketball), Duke (N.C.) (men’s basketball), Texas (men’s swimming), Florida (women’s swimming and men’s track and field), Oregon (women’s track and field), Iowa (wrestling), Texas Christian captured the National Collegiate (NC) rifle title, Denver captured the NC skiing championship, Penn State claimed the NC fencing title, Fairleigh Dickinson (N.J.) claimed the NC bowling title, Michigan won the NC men’s gymnastics championship, UCLA took the NC women’s gymnastics title and Cornell had the highest finish of a Division I institution in the NC sport of women’s ice hockey (second).



The Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution's finish in up to 20 sports -- 10 women’s and 10 men’s.

The first Spring Division I standings will be released Thursday, June 3, 2010.