. NACDA Convention Features U.S. Sports Academy Directors' Cup; Hall of Fame Induction :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
NACDA Convention Features U.S. Sports Academy Directors' Cup; Hall of Fame Induction

June 22, 2006

NACDA Convention Features

New Orleans, Louisiana -- At the second day of the 41st Annual Convention of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), close to 2,000 administrators in attendance were treated to the presentation of the U.S. Sports Academy Directors' Cup trophies and the induction of the NACDA Hall of Fame.

At the U.S. Sports Academy Directors' Cup Awards Luncheon, Darrin Nelson, senior associate director of athletics at Stanford University (Division I); Tim Selgo, director of athletics at Grand Valley State University [Mich.] (Division II); Harry Sheehy, director of athletics at Williams College [Mass.] (Division III); and Bill O'Dell, director of athletics at Azusa Pacific University [Calif.] (NAIA) were presented with the U.S. Sports Academy Directors' Cup trophies. It is the ultimate award for winning the only all-sports competition in intercollegiate athletics. Serving as the emcee at the luncheon was Linda Cohn of ESPN.

In Division I, Stanford earned its 12th consecutive U.S. Sports Academy Directors' Cup. Stanford has 1,133.375 points (to date) and scored in 19 of 20 sports allowed in the standings - 10 women's and nine men's. The Cardinal recorded a pair of national championships in women's cross country and tennis.

In his remarks, Nelson said, "Ted Leland (former athletics director) created a fabulous environment at Stanford. The student-athletes and coaches are just thriving right now."

Grand Valley State won its third U.S. Sports Academy Directors' Cup, with 974.75 points. The Lakers placed 10 teams in the top 10, including three national championships (football, women's volleyball and basketball). Grand Valley State scored in the maximum seven men's and seven women's sports.

In his remarks, Selgo noted, "We have a tremendously talented and hard-working staff at our school. When you add that mixed together with a great institution, you have the opportunity for success."

Williams claimed its 10th U.S. States Sports Academy Directors' Cup championship in the last 11 years, with 920.5 points. The Ephs were the national champions in women's rowing and posted 11 additional top 10 finishes. Williams scored in scored in five men's sports and the maximum of nine women's sports.

In his remarks, Sheehy acknowledged the senior leadership of the college and also said, "I have the opportunity to work with some of the very best coaches in the country. Some of the best teaching on our campus happens at 4:00 (at practice)."

Azusa Pacific defended its championship, won for the first time last year, with 836 points. The Cougars were NAIA runners-up in men's soccer and tennis and women's outdoor track and field. They scored in the maximum of six women's and six men's sports and had 11 teams finish in the top 10.

In his remarks, O'Dell noted, "What a privilege it is to accept this award. It's very humbling. We're very proud of our school."

NACDA also inducted 22 administrators into its Hall of Fame. Being recognized were:

Marino Casem

Alcorn State University

George Chryst

University of Wisconsin Platteville

Vin Cullen

Community College of Rhode Island

Merrily Dean Baker

Michigan State University

Bob Dinaberg

Santa Barbara City College

Jack Doyle

University of South Dakota

Paul Durham

Linfield College/University of Hawaii

Art Eason

William Paterson University

Herb Eisele

John Carroll University

John Gagliardi

St. John's University (Minn.)

Fred Gruninger

Rutgers University

James Houdeshell

University of Findlay

Betty Jaynes

James Madison University

Karol Kahrs

University of Illinois

Don Landry

Nicholls State University

Frank Lignelli

Clarion University

Ron Maestri

University of New Orleans

Ray Nagel

University of Hawaii/Washington State University

Frank Rienzo

Georgetown University

Bill Steinbrecher

Valparaiso University

Dick Tamburo

Arizona State University

Charlotte West

Southern Illinois University

Other awards presented included the Synergy Award for the Program of the Year by the International Collegiate Licensing Association (ICLA) and the University Division Fund Raiser of the Year Award by the National Association of Athletic Development Directors (NAADD). The recipients were Jenny McDaniel of Indiana University and Brian Mackin of the University of Alabama Birmingham.

Video recognition was given to the recipients of the John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Awards; and the NACMA, NAADD and ICLA award recipients.

The John McLendon Memorial Postgraduate Scholarship Awards were presented to minority students who will pursue a postgraduate degree in athletics administration. These went to Andrea Adame of Ashland University; Amin Elhassan of Arizona State University; Shamae Hemingway of Coker College; Vipin Motwani of the University of Maryland; and Corey Patterson of the College of William and Mary.

NACMA presented five $1,500 scholarships to graduate students pursuing a career in sports administration. Recipients included Kristen Alford of Colorado State University; Navreet Gill of Ferris State University; Emily Hawkins of Iowa State University; Julie May of the University of Kansas; and Bryan Miller of the University of Georgia.

NAADD presented awards to Robert Wakefield of Brigham Young University as the Volunteer of the Year; Steve Meeker of Black Hills State University as the College Division Fund Raiser of the Year; John and Erika Lockridge of Colorado School of Mines as the College Division Donor of the Year; George and Frances Wilkins of Northern Illinois University as the University Division Donor of the Year; and Kristina Meissen of the University of Wisconsin LaCrosse as the recipient of the $2,000 postgraduate scholarship for a student interested in pursuing a degree in sports administration.

ICLA awards were presented to Linda Gilbert of the University of Missouri with the Distinguished Service Award; Maureen Riedel of Penn State University with the Gold Star Award.