. 2010-11 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
2010-11 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced

June 13, 2011

Orlando, Fla. -- The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced the 28 winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Award (ADOY) today. There are four geographic regions - northeast, southeast, central and west; while the membership is separated into seven categories - Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A); Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA); Division I (formerly Division I-AAA); Division II; Division III; NAIA; and Junior/Community Colleges. One winner was selected in each of the seven categories, for a total of 28 honorees. Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Saturday, June 18 at NACDA's 46th Annual Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla.

NACDA Executive Director Mike Cleary explains the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to campuses and their surrounding communities.

"Our Honors and Awards Committee recognized a need for an award such as the AD of the Year," said Cleary, who oversaw implementation of the program to allow all NACDA Officers and Honors and Awards Committee members to participate in the awards process, should they be elected. "The program brings to light the outstanding jobs done by athletics directors across the country. These 28 winners exemplify that, providing us with a group of exemplary athletics directors who excel at their jobs."

Winners of the 2010-11 Under Armour AD of the Year Awards are: 


Winner Institution Region
Football Bowl Subdivision
Kathy Beauregard Western Michigan University Central
Bill Bradshaw Temple University Northeast
Chris Hill University of Utah West
Eric Hyman University of South Carolina Southeast
Football Championship Subdivision
Charlie Cobb Appalachian State University Southeast
Robert Hill Stephen F. Austin State University West
Ron Prettyman Indiana State University Central
Joe Sterrett Lehigh University Northeast
Division I
Jeff Altier Stetson University Southeast
Mike Lynch Boston University Northeast
Bruce Rasmussen Creighton University Central
Larry Williams University of Portland West
Division II
Kathleen Brasfield Angelo State University West
Rick Cole Jr. Dowling College Northeast
Peggy Davis Virginia State University Southeast
Jerry Hughes University of Central Missouri Central
Division III
Jim Knowlton Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Northeast
Frank O’Brien University of Wisconsin Stevens Point West
Larry Scheiderer Denison University Central
Joy Solomen Rowan University Southeast
NAIA/Other 4-Year Institutions
Bill Ashby University of Maine Fort Kent Northeast
Rusty Hollingsworth Campbellsville University Southeast
Gary Picone Lewis-Clark State College West
Thomas Smith Missouri Baptist University Central
Junior/Community Colleges
Mick McDaniel Tompkins Cortland Community College Northeast
Jay Mehrhoff East Central College Central
Christopher Parker Patrick Henry Community College Southeast
John Volek Sierra College West

All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Among the criteria were service as an AD for a minimum of five academic years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments. Additionally, each AD's institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body (i.e., NCAA, NAIA, etc.), in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control within the last five years during the tenure of the current athletics director.

Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners. Special Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, present and past NCAA and NAIA presidents, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award. A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA's Web site at www.nacda.com.

Under Armour (NYSE: UA): is a leading developer, marketer, and distributor of branded performance apparel, footwear, and accessories. The brand's moisture-wicking synthetic fabrications are engineered in many different designs and styles for wear in nearly every climate to provide a performance alternative to traditional natural fiber products. The Company's products are sold worldwide and worn by athletes at all levels, from youth to professional, on playing fields around the globe. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Maryland, with European headquarters in Amsterdam's Olympic Stadium, and additional offices in Denver, Hong Kong, Toronto, and Guangzhou, China. For further information, please visit the Company's Web site at www.underarmour.com.

About NACDA: NACDA, now in its 46th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,300 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers 11 professional associations for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics director.