. 2012-13 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced :: NACDA :: Official Athletic Site
» «
2012-13 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced

June 10, 2013

Orlando, FL -- The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced the 28 winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Award (ADOY) today. The award spans seven divisions (NCAA FBS, FCS; Division I-AAA, II, III, NAIA/Other Four-Year Institutions and Junior College/Community Colleges). Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Saturday, June 15 at NACDA's 48th Annual Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

NACDA Executive Director Bob Vecchione explains the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to student-athletes, campuses and their surrounding communities.

"Since 1998, NACDA has been highlighting significant contributions made by athletics directors across all divisions of our membership," said NACDA Executive Director Bob Vecchione. "This award allows athletics directors to be recognized not only nationally, but also in their respective communities which heightens the awareness of their leadership position in the athletics enterprise."

Winners of the 2012-13 Under Armour AD of the Year Awards are: 


Winner Institution
Football Bowl Subdivision
Jeff Compher Northern Illinois University
John Currie Kansas State University
Jeff Long University of Arkansas
Kevin White Duke University
Football Championship Subdivision
Bill Chaves Eastern Washington University
Bruce McCutcheon Lafayette College
Mario Moccia Southern Illinois University
Mark Wilson Tennessee Tech University
Division I-AAA
Charles Brown University of Maryland Baltimore County
Janet Cone University of North Carolina Asheville
Ken Kavanagh Florida Gulf Coast University
John Stanley University of Evansville
Division II
Pennie Parker Rollins College
Tim Selgo Grand Valley State University
Scott Wiegandt Bellarmine University
Sue Willey University of Indianapolis
Division III
Al Bean University of Southern Maine
Ed Farrington Western Connecticut State University
Howard Patterson University of Texas Tyler
Margie Strait St. Lawrence University
NAIA/Other 4-Year Institutions
Greg Feris Wayland Baptist University
Mike McCutchen Freed-Hardeman University
Meg Schebler Ashford University
Bob Wilson Vanguard University
Junior/Community Colleges
Ron Case Gloucester County College
Jim Forkum Santa Rosa Junior College
Randy Stange Hutchinson Community College
Troy Tucker Northampton Community College

All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Among the criteria were service as an AD for a minimum of five academic years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments. Additionally, each AD's institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body (i.e., NCAA, NAIA, etc.), in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control within the last five years during the tenure of the current athletics director.

Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners. Special Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, present and past NCAA and NAIA presidents, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award. A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA's Web site at www.nacda.com.

Under Armour (NYSE: UA): is a leading developer, marketer, and distributor of branded performance apparel, footwear, and accessories. The brand's moisture-wicking synthetic fabrications are engineered in many different designs and styles for wear in nearly every climate to provide a performance alternative to traditional natural fiber products. The Company's products are sold worldwide and worn by athletes at all levels, from youth to professional, on playing fields around the globe. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Maryland, with European headquarters in Amsterdam's Olympic Stadium, and additional offices in Denver, Hong Kong, Toronto, and Guangzhou, China. For further information, please visit the Company's Web site at www.underarmour.com.

About NACDA:  NACDA, now in its 48th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers 13 professional associations, including six for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics directors and two foundations.  For more information on NACDA, visit www.nacda.com.