» «

April 4, 2001

Finalists for the 2001 John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Awards Announced

CLEVELAND -- Ten finalists for the inaugural John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Awards were announced today by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA).

They will now be reviewed by the Blue Ribbon Committee, which will select the final five winners who will each receive a $10,000 grant to be used toward postgraduate studies. Funding for the scholarship program has been provided by adidas America; American Football Coaches Association (AFCA); Eddie Robinson Football Classic; Host Communications; Mellon Private Asset Management; National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC); National Athletic Steering Committee (NASC); National Basketball Association (NBA); Sears, Roebuck and Co.; Sports Media Association of Cleveland and Ohio (SMACO); and NACDA.

The winners will receive their awards at NACDA's 36th annual Convention, June 10-13 at the Little and Grand America Hotels in Salt Lake City, Utah. The NACDA Scholarship Awards Luncheon, presented by Sears, will take place on Tuesday, June 12.

Minorities who intend to pursue a postgraduate degree in athletics administration are eligible for these scholarships. Students were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, have senior status and have demonstrated leadership qualities on an institutional or community level.

The finalists are:

Adebola BamiduroBarnardPolitical Science3.27
Sheela CabilingMarshallSports Management/Marketing3.48
Harvey DavisSt. Mary's (Md.)Economics3.80
Joseph HeskettIowa StateSpeech Communication3.14
Teresa JanMichiganSports Management/Comm.3.40
Martin JarmondNorth Carolina-WilmingtonCommunication Studies3.56
Jean JeuneFlorida StateSociology3.35
Stephanie MossNorth Carolina A&TPhysical Education3.50
Cobey ShojiMichiganSports Management/Comm.3.60
Hajj TurnerLouisvillePan African Studies3.73

Members of the John McLendon Memorial Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Awards Committee were responsible for selecting the finalists. Completing this task were Lee McElroy, chair, director of athletics, Albany; Al Avant, director of athletics, Chicago State; Jim Battle, director of athletics, Virginia Union; Rudy Carvajal, director of athletics, California-Bakersfield; Deborah Chin, director of athletics, New Haven; Rudy Davalos, director of athletics, Mexico; Art Eason, director of athletics, William Paterson; Vivian Fuller, director of athletics, Maryland-Eastern Shore; Mike Garrett, director of athletics, Southern California; Dan Guerrero, director of athletics, California-Irvine; Charles Harris, commissioner, Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference; Anne Little, director of athletics, Winston-Salem; Gene Marshall, director of athletics, Ramapo; Chuck Prophet, director of athletics, Mississippi Valley State; Ken Riley, director of athletics, Florida A&M; Gene Smith, director of athletics, Arizona State; Jim Smith, director of athletics, Tennessee State; Charlie Titus, director of athletics, Massachusetts-Harbor; Robert Vowels, commissioner, Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference; Rudy Washington, commissioner, Southwestern Athletic Conference; Alfred White, commissioner, Southern Conference; and Hugh Yoshida, director of athletics, Hawaii.

Contact: Laurie Garrison
 Assistant Executive Director, Communications
 440/892-4007 (Fax)
 E-mail: lgarrison@nacda.com
 Web Site: www.nacda.com