» «

December 18, 2000

Third Annual Division I-AA ADs Association Academic All-Star Team Named

CLEVELAND -- The 40 winners of the Third Annual Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team were announced Friday, December 15 by the Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AA ADA).

The winners were chosen from 88 nominees and were announced at the Division I-AA football championship in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The 40 members of the Division I-AA Academic All-Star Team are listed on the next page.

"All of the nominees, and particularly the 40 winners represent the talent and dedication of the student-athletes at Division I-AA institutions," said Dave Roach, chair of the Division I-AA ADA Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and athletics director at Brown University. "They are excellent choices to receive this annual award."

Football players from all Division I-AA institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the 88 nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AA athletics directors was responsible for selecting the finalists. Completing this task were Dave Roach, chair, Brown; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Terry Driscoll, William and Mary; Kim Graham, Liberty; Wayne Hogan, Montana; Steve McCarty, Stephen F. Austin; and John Johnson, Weber State.

Now in its eighth year, the Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Division I-AA football. The Division I-AA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA). NACDA, now in its 36th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics directors, associates, assistants and conference administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. Through its series of management seminars, clinics and workshops and publication of the bi-monthly magazine Athletics Administration, NACDA offers educational opportunities to its members. More than 1,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. NACDA also owns and operates the two preseason football games, the Kickoff and Pigskin Classics. Additionally, NACDA operates the Sears Directors' Cup program, which honors the all-sports champion in each of the NCAA Divisions -- I, II and III -- and the NAIA, for a total of four trophies.

Division I-AA Academic All-Star Team

Matthew AndrewsLehigh UniversityFree Safety3.20
Joel BarrowWeber State UniversityDefensive Tackle3.62
Billy BeltzCal Poly - San Luis ObispoDefensive End3.40
Brian BodorWofford CollegeDefensive Tackle3.53
Caesar Campana IVWestern Carolina UniversityWide Receiver3.67
Kevin CampbellLa Salle UniversityLinebacker3.77
Stephen CampbellBrown UniversityWide Receiver3.20
C.J. CarrollSouthwest Texas State UniversitySafety3.48
Gordon ChenBrown UniversityDefensive Tackle3.80
Malcolm Colbert IIITroy State UniversityLinebacker3.76
Kenneth CombsEastern Kentucky UniversityDefensive End3.39
Billy CundiffDrake UniversityPlacekicker3.54
Eric DamkoNorthern Arizona UniversityOffensive Lineman3.83
Damon DawsonHampton UniversityDefensive Tackle/End3.49
John DevotiTowson UniversityDefensive Tackle3.33
Lon DimbattCharleston Southern UniversityOffensive Lineman3.82
Dave EvansBucknell UniversityStrong Safety3.75
DeWayne EwingButler UniversityQuarterback3.66
Eric HigginsBucknell UniversityLinebacker3.69
Wes HinesMcNeese State UniversityOffensive Tackle3.96
Vince HuntsbergerUniversity of MontanaStrong Safety3.91
Eric JohnsonYale UniversityWide Receiver/Punter3.60
R.D. KernHarvard UniversityDefensive Tackle3.40
Gene LiebelTowson UniversityFullback3.97
Marion MartinFurman UniversityLinebacker3.90
Phil McGeoghanUniversity of MaineWide Receiver3.29
Josiah MooneySt. John's UniversityLinebacker3.69
Caleb MooreDartmouth CollegeOffensive Guard3.23
Eric NashWofford CollegeOffensive Guard3.35
Matt NighswongerIdaho State UniversityOffensive Lineman3.60
Steven NorciniFairfield UniversityLinebacker3.70
Ryan O'DonoghueGeorgetown UniversityStrong Safety3.63
Adam OverbeyTowson UniversityWide Receiver3.71
Hadley PrinceMcNeese State UniversitySafety3.52
Brian SmithUniversity of MassachusettsDefensive Back3.36
Andrew SmulskiDuquesne UniversityCenter3.52
Travis StephensThe CitadelLinebacker3.38
Matt ThuesenUniversity of MontanaCenter3.87
Gino TuteraGeorgia Southern UniversityDefensive Tackle3.61
Tony ZimmermanDuquesne UniversityQuarterback3.23