» «

June 13, 2000

NACDA Elects New Officers And Executive Committee Members For 2000-01

CLEVELAND -- The members of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) have chosen Debbie Yow, director of athletics at the University of Maryland, to serve as president for 2000-01. Her term begins on July 1. Yow was elected during NACDA's 35th Anniversary Convention, held June 11-14 at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort in Orlando, Florida. Yow is the second woman in the history of NACDA to hold the office of president.

Also elected to serve NACDA for the 2000-01 term were 1st Vice President Bill Bradshaw, director of athletics at DePaul University; 2nd Vice President Joe Castiglione, director of athletics at the University of Oklahoma; 3rd Vice President Judy Rose, director of athletics at the University of North Carolina-Charlotte; and Tim Gleason, commissioner of the Ohio Athletics Conference, to the second year of a five-year term as secretary.

NACDA, now in its 35th anniversary year, serves as the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics directors, associates, assistants and conference commissioners at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. Through its series of management seminars and clinics, it offers educational opportunities to its members. Additionally, NACDA administers the Sears Directors' Cup program, which honors the all-sports champion in each of the NCAA Divisions I, II and III and the NAIA. NACDA also publishes Athletics Administration, an informative national magazine considered the voice of college athletics administration, six times a year.