» «

December 17, 1999

Second Annual Division I-AA ADs Association Academic All-Star Team Named

CLEVELAND -- The 40 winners of the Second Annual Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team were announced today by the Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AA ADA).

The winners were chosen from 115 nominees and were announced at the Division I-AA football championship in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The 40 members of the Division I-AA Academic All-Star Team are listed on the next page.

"All of the nominees, and particularly the 40 winners represent the talent and dedication of the student-athletes at Division I-AA institutions," said Dave Roach, chair of the Division I-AA ADA Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and athletics director at Brown University. "They are excellent choices to receive this annual award."

Football players from all Division I-AA institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the 115 nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AA athletics directors and football coaches was responsible for selecting the finalists. Completing this task were Dave Roach, chair, AD, Brown; Gene Doris, AD, Fairfield; Bobby Johnson, football coach, Furman; and Walt Nadzak, AD, Citadel.

Now in its seventh year, the Division I-AA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Division I-AA football. The Division I-AA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA). NACDA, now in its 35th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics directors, associates, assistants and conference administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. Through its series of management seminars, clinics and workshops and publication of the bi-monthly magazine Athletics Administration, NACDA offers educational opportunities to its members. More than 1,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. NACDA also owns and operates the two preseason football games, the Kickoff and Pigskin Classics. Additionally, NACDA operates the Sears Directors' Cup program, which honors the all-sports champion in each of the NCAA Divisions -- I, II and III -- and the NAIA, for a total of four trophies.