» «

September 15, 1998

NACDA Unveils New Awards Program

Cleveland, Ohio -- The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced earlier today the creation of a new annual awards program for intercollegiate directors of athletics.

The new honor, known as the NACDA Athletics Director of the Year Award, was initiated to acknowledge administrative excellence within a campus and/or college community environment for NACDA member ADs in the U.S., Canada and Mexico.

Jim Livengood, NACDA's president and the director of athletics at the University of Arizona, said, "We created the NACDA Athletics Director of the Year Award to honor the top administrators at colleges and universities around the country, and their positive contributions to higher education, student-athletes, college athletics and the community. We feel it will be a very successful and very well-received awards program."

The program consists of recognition for athletics directors on both regional and national levels in NCAA Division I-A, I-AA/I-AAA (combined), II, III, NAIA/Other Four-Year Institutions and Junior/Community Colleges. Four directors are first honored in each of the above divisions in one of four regions of membership:

Northeast -- Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont and Quebec and Ontario, Canada

Southeast -- Alabama, D.C., Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virgin Islands, Virginia and West Virginia

Central -- Arkansas, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Michigan, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Wisconsin and Manitoba, Canada

West -- Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, Mexico and Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, Canada.

Of these 24 athletics directors (six from each division), one is then selected from each division as the NACDA Athletics Director of the Year. The awards will be presented during NACDA's annual Convention, June 13-16, 1999, at the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Monday, June 14.

NACDA Athletics Director of the Year Award nomination forms will be mailed to all NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners in mid-November.

All NACDA-member directors of athletics who have been ADs for a minimum of five academic years, and are at institutions who are not or have not been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control in the last five years, are eligible for the award. Other key qualities which will be considered are demonstration of continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; a commitment to higher education and student-athletes; a commitment to continuing education for athletics administrative staff; and leadership on regional and national levels.

NACDA is in its 34th year and serves as the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics directors, associates, assistants and conference commissioners at more than 6,500 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. Through its series of management seminars, clinics and workshops and publication of the bi-monthly magazine Athletics Administration, NACDA offers educational opportunities to its members. More than 1,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. NACDA also owns the two preseason football games, the Kickoff and Pigskin Classics. Additionally, NACDA operates the Sears Directors' Cup program, which honors the all-sports champion in each of the NCAA Divisions -- I, II and III -- and the NAIA, for a total of four trophies.