» «
Maryland Terrapins

Head Coach Ralph Friedgen
Ralph Friedgen enters his second season as head coach at his alma mater, with a school and career record of 10-2. The consensus National Coach of the Year last season, Friedgen also earned ACC Coach of the Year honors. Prior to Maryland, he served as an assistant coach on the college and professional levels for 31 years. In 1999, he won the Frank Broyles Award as the top assistant coach in the country.

Tailback Bruce Perry
A fourth-year junior and All-American candidate, Bruce Perry was the ACC Offensive Player of the Year in 2001. He was the first non-senior and the first Terrapin to win the award. He rushed for 1,242 yards and 10 touchdowns and was named a second-team All-American by Football News last year. He is ranked by Lindy's as the best running back in college football.

Linebacker E.J. Henderson
E.J. Henderson is the lone returnee of last year's three Butkus Award finalists after earning 2001 consensus All-American honors. The senior was his team and conference's leading tackler last season with 150 total tackles, 28 for losses, earning him ACC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year accolades. He is ranked by The Sporting News and Lindy's as the best middle linebacker in college football.

  • Maryland Leaders
  • Kickoff Background
  • NACDA Background
  • Notre Dame Leaders
  • Kickoff Results
  • NACDA Profile
  • Kickoff Classic XIX
  • Meadowlands' Kickoff Site
  • Pigskin Classic